We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
429
27
0
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
429
27
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate barbreakfast in bedmy husband and igourmet breakfastwhirlpool tubget awaywedding anniversarystep back in timea wonderful staylavender bath saltsb bsgreat hostsantique furnishingsbutler's pantryself servemain floorstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 462 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017

First of all I would like to acknowledge the most attentive hospitality of Mansion owners, Jim and Sandy. They (and their marvelous gourmet chef Melissa) went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable, highlighted by the most creative, delicious and bountiful breakfast. The Beall Mansion staff provided a warm welcome complete with complimentary champagne; and we could not get over all the plates full of an amazing variety of fine chocolates available in the downstairs dining room 24/7.

My wife and I really appreciated the Mansion’s elegance, history, and overall ambiance. All of the original furniture, art work, and beautiful woodwork in this home are in exquisite condition. Almost every piece is original and has a story that goes along with the item. Entering the Beall Mansion was like walking through a portal into the early 1900’s. On our private tour, Jim our host, provided all the details of the Mansion, Mr. Beall and his family. We stayed in the former Master Bedroom, once belonging to Edmond Beall himself, who was a significant part of Alton’s commercial and political history. This spacious room of his was very comfortable and filled with incredible antiques, as well as being equipped with all the latest modern conveniences-- “big screen” cable TV, luxurious feather-top king-size bed, whirlpool bath w/shower for two, and fine soaps.

If you are looking for a one of a kind unique and pampered experience, I would highly recommend the Beall Mansion!

Room Tip: We choose the Master's bedroom, Edmond Beall, amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review. When guests enjoy it makes the long hours and hard work of operating the property all worth while.

Looking forward to your next stay with us . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

Such a surprise to arrive at this amazing place in quiet Alton, Illinois. Magnificently and lovingly restored and renovated by Jim and Sandy who are so welcoming and hospitable. Every comfort and convenience is provided - especially the chocolate bar and brandy nightcap!! This house is their passion and life's work and it really shows. Their collection of exquisite objects and furniture is astonishing and all have their stories. The four poster beds are awesome and breakfast in the Butler's Pantry great fun. Do read the scrapbook of The Red Chair which sits in the Parlour and its worldwide voyages - incredible. We ate in town at Gentelin's on Broadway - great food and a view of the bridge over the Mississippi - being Brits we walked there - a nice stroll with steep hill on the way back to work off the calories!! Thanks so much to our hosts for a memorable stay and to Trailfinders who found this gem of a place for us. A highlight of our Southern Music Tour and the most amazing coincidence since we live in Alton in Hampshire England!!!! Libby

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank chongalolo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

It's always great to host our friends from across the pond. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and hope you make it back to the states and The BEALL MANSION one day soon.

Safe travels . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this enchanting mansion house,Jim and Sandy are fantastic hosts and made us all feel very welcome.
We enjoyed the travel log of the famous red chair,the late night brandy and of course the delicious chocolates!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Boon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review.

Arts, blues, brandy, chocolates, BEALL MANSION. What a great combination!

Please keep us in your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful historic home! Had a very nice stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the chocolate bar! The owners were extremely nice. Would definitely stay here again! Enjoyed a continental breakfast, many items to choose from. Felt very pampered!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rjfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review.

Chocolate Bar and Pampered. What a great way to sum up a stay at The BEALL MANSION.

We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

My wife and I stayed one night on our way back home. Made a superb choice to stay here. Extreme Luxury. Very high end B&B with a lot of history. The décor is amazing. The bed and room were perfect for a great nights stay. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Queen with balcony was perfect for a couple wanting to get away.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adventurer357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for choosing the award winning BEALL MANSION. Please be sure to come back and stay again when you have more time to enjoy the property and all of the amazing things to see and do in the Meeting of the Great Rivers All Around Alton, IL area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews