We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel(Alton)(Great Value!)
$111
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Budget Inn(Florissant)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
425
27
0
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
425
27
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate barbreakfast in bedmy husband and igourmet breakfastwhirlpool tubget awaywedding anniversarystep back in timea wonderful staylavender bath saltsb bsgreat hostscomplimentary brandyantique furnishingsbutler's pantryromantic getawayself serve
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 458 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

My wife and I stayed one night on our way back home. Made a superb choice to stay here. Extreme Luxury. Very high end B&B with a lot of history. The décor is amazing. The bed and room were perfect for a great nights stay. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Queen with balcony was perfect for a couple wanting to get away.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adventurer357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for choosing the award winning BEALL MANSION. Please be sure to come back and stay again when you have more time to enjoy the property and all of the amazing things to see and do in the Meeting of the Great Rivers All Around Alton, IL area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Beautiful house that is full of history! Upon arrival Jim gives the history of the house. We had a great time. The house was very clean the hosts were very helpful & friendly. Would highly recommend for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

Thank you too on behalf of our assistants, Marilou and Gemma, for recognizing the never ending hard work they put in to keep the property dusted and clean.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Beall Mansion this Labor Day weekend for our 28th anniversary. The house and grounds were beautiful and filled with historical pieces with stories that our host, Jim was happy to share. Our room was also very lovely, with high ceilings, a comfortable bed and a very nice jacuzzi complete with homemade lavender bath salts made by the innkeeper. Although there were a lot of historical pieces in the home, we were encouraged to use the common areas and felt very relaxed and comfortable here. Our hosts (and the housekeeper) were very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed the 24 hr chocolate bar! The location was also central to both the river towns and St Louis, providing a lot of options for recreation during our stay. I would definitely recommend staying here and would love to return.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Manager at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review and the compliments about the property and staff (including yours truly.)

Thank you also for pointing out that The BEALL MANSION is central to both the river town nd St. Louis. You can stay in the quiet, elegance, and safety of a small town while having access to all of the attractions and activities of the big city right across the Mississippi River. It is the best of both worlds.

Thank you once again for choosing The BEALL MANSION. Looking forward to seeing you again . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Jim is the host and tour guide with the most. He goes above to make you feel in an upscale environment. The elegance & history makes you feel like you are in another place. The Chocolate bar was a nice touch/my husband even had it on his plate for breakfast. The feather king bed was so hard to leave and get out of. I used the Aged Brandy to help me relax (something I always wanted to try and never have) because we received a phone call that they were taking my mom to the hospital right before bed time. It worked with the jet tube. We were gifted by a friend with certificate and didn't realize you can pay for late check out. Next time we will do that. We chose the Continental Breakfast in the Butlers Room. Very nice assortment. I had Grape Fruit and hard boiled Egg, my hubby had chocolate, hard boiled egg, peach danish, homemade granola out of this world. The Coffee was soooooo good and they even accommodated my almond unsweet milk and stevia. They juice and bagels and muffins, honey, jam, oatmeal, microwave, toaster, and lots of fresh fruit. The table was set with crystal/glass plates and dishes. the knife even had a crystal rest not to get the table dirty. It was a very laid back, relaxing time. Such a wonderful experience, you must visit to find our yourself! I would highly recommend two nights instead of one for the full experience and try the breakfast in bed.

Room Tip: Master room with king size canopy
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything.

Your recommendation to stay 2 nights instead of 1 is spot on. It takes most people 24 hours just to unwind from the stresses of everyday life and fully relax.

We looking forward to your next stay . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Went to the Beall Mansion for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. What a wonderful experience. Jim was a very gracious host. Staying at the Beall itself, is like staying at a Museum. Everything was very clean and comfortable...delicious breakfast...and plenty of chocolate!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Manager at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for celebrating such a milestone with us. You are a joy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews