We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Nice Museum,Film,Short Tour

We were out for a scenic drive along the river but were limited by the flooding so it seemed... read more

Reviewed May 12, 2019
GWToronto
,
Toronto
via mobile
Nice Tour

Nice overview of River and the Locks and Dam with a tour that goes halfway across the river. Tour... read more

Reviewed March 27, 2019
Mkrayill
via mobile
Read all 102 reviews
  
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
68
33
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
68
33
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lock and dam all ages dam tour free tour mississippi river interactive displays kids and adults close to home lewis and clark on display great stop simulator locks barge movie tours importance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 102 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2019

Nothing impressive at all besides the price.... free Cam't beat that. Maybe for children it seems better, maybe more majestic ect

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Visited on way back from Riverlands. Cool museum about the Missouri and Mississippi rivers. Next to the dam.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this museum about the rivers (near where the Mississippi, Missouri and Illinois Rivers come together) and Lock and Dam 26. Having been in Illinois for 40 years, I'd constantly heard about Lock and Dam 26 and I never knew why. It is an impressive facility and the traffic along the river is interesting to understand better.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We explored the exhibits at the museum, viewed two of their many films, and then had an opportunity for a tour by one of the Corps of Engineers guides. Very knowledgeable and receptive to questions. I highly recommend this museum for young and old alike. We were with two other couples. . . no not exactly romantic, but really fascinating!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Yarnfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The exhibit is well organized to inform but not to overwhelm. The drive back seems long but you get to watch the magic of boats going through the lock right there in the parking lot.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rbj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews