We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moved to Cottage Hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Frank's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frank's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Moved to Cottage Hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Frank's has moved. Same great breakfast (it's all we've ever gone for because it's so good). Same staff. Bigger, better restaurant. No longer the old long, slender dining area that felt cramped. Now a lot more space and much more open. Frank's has moved to Cottage Hill, IL.


132 W. Macarthur Dr. (Rt. 140)
Cottage Hills, IL 62018
(618) 258-8440

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tab1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Frank's is no longer.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not sure what happened but Frank's is out of service. "Village Inn" now in its place with about the same quality of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PAKO8_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining at Franks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had dinner at Franks diner. This is the old fashion home cooked meals with the friendliest people. With a large home cooking menu to choose from, we order the country fried steak and WOW was it good. If we could have stayed another day, we would have loved to returned for breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McCloudLeesSummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Take your appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've been here several times with friends and family. The wide selection of 'American style' food is always tasty in very generous portions and the prices are quite fair. In my experience the friendly service is good but slows a little when the place is very busy. There are a lot of tables fairly crammed in, so it's a little cramped and loud - maybe not the best place to have a liesurely chat over coffee with a friend, but certainly not impossible. Good selection of desserts is hard to resist.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disapointing Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is the first time my husband & I have been to Frank's & we agreed whole heartedly it would be the last.
The place was packed, which we took as a good sign. We were seated right away, but it was the only table open. We got our menus right away and the waitress came by in a good amount of time and was very friendly. The good service is the only reason I'm giving this a poor rating instead of terrible. The food was so unfortunate it left an impression on us all day. I didn't feel sick but the only way I can think to describe it is that my stomach was sad.
I had scrambled eggs; my husband's were over easy. Both were underdone. His hash browns were burned on top and cold in the middle. The bacon tasted more like grease than meat. My french toast was bland and although he said his pancakes were the best part of the meal, they also tasted like a box mix.
Yes, you get a lot of food for cheap & if that's all you care about go ahead and eat here. On the other hand if you care at all about the taste of the food you're eating you'll find yourself disappointed with Frank's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank photogirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing