We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reunion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reunion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Overall this hotel was above average. No complaints. Breakfast was a bit lacking. I expected more choices. Parking was excellent, well lit. Security was above average. Room was quiet. TV choices were above average. Air conditioning worked very well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank S5447FOjohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
92
54
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I came to this hotel so that I could ride the Sam Vadalabene Bike Trail and get back to the hotel for a shower before checkout time. That part of the experience went well.
There were other parts of the experience that did not go well.
I spent almost an hour driving around Alton trying to find the address. The GPS on my phone was not working properly and I did not have a paper map. After I checked in, the front desk gave me a paper map that allowed me to find everything I needed in the area, but you may want to make sure you have good directions before you come.
I wanted a King nonsmoking room, and was given a disability King as that was the only King nonsmoking left. There was a strong smell in the room that I thought was cigarette smoke, so I asked to be moved. They moved me to a disability room with two Queens, that also had the same strong odor.
The bathroom was designed for disabled use, so it was different from conventional bathrooms. The tub enclosure was lined with a material similar to a counter top that seemed to be an upgrade from conventional tub enclosure. There was also a portable tub seat. I was curious why they installed a tub rather than a shower stall. There are shower stall designs available that allow a wheelchair to roll into the shower. Although some architect or building contractor should have thought of that, I think that hotel management needs to address a similar problem immediately. The shower head was attached to a hose and held in place by a bent coat hanger at a height that anyone in a wheelchair would be unable to reach. Someone needs to install an appropriate bracket for holding the shower head, and ideally there need to be two brackets so that the shower head could be mounted high (for someone such as me), or low (for someone who cannot reach high items.
It was difficult to find electrical outlets so that I could charge my cell phone or use my computer. When a desk is provided, it should not be difficult to find electrical outlets on or near the desk.
The Internet connection required a CAT5 cable that I did not bring with me. If you want to us the Internet, bring a cable.
These two rooms may not be representative of the rest of the hotel, but based on my experience with these two rooms, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If only the disabled rooms are available, you might want to look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George_Macke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stay here when I am in town and it is a good experience every time.

The breakfast is well attended by the attendant, BUT, when the Front Desk person has to cover both the front desk and the breakfast...it is just too much for them. PLEASE fix this staffing problem and don't make your customers look for milk or coffee. THANK you!

Room Tip: Put a towel at the bottom of your door for ultra quiet sleep time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leone656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice condition and appearance. Good bed. . Not the best large screen picture quality on the TV, could use another accessible electrical outlet, but the plug on the lap is nice for plugging your computer in the desk. No jacket hooks in the alcove where you enter the room either. Twice this summer stayed at BW in St. Louis area and neither had potatoes on the breakfast, bad for those of us avoiding gluten and meat. The number of breakfast options has been a selling point for me in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mariol65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was not bad. Plenty of rooms, nice and quiet the entire time, the breakfast was ready, hot and prepared; the pool looked inviting; The room was pretty good, as pictured, extra pillows/blankets in the closet; updated heating/air systems; plenty of parking, convenient to get to from St. Louis. The only lacking part was the fitness facility.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stay at the Best Western on Homer Adams Parkway frequently. We have NEVER had a bad experience there. Everyone is helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean. It is conveniently located and the pool is great - safe and secure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

All of the BW hotels along Interstate 44 through St. Louis were full so we explored possibilities in the greater SL area. We found this hotel in Alton which was about 20 mi out of the way but decided to try it. What a surprise! The hotel was very nice. Lots of stores and shops nearby. We didn't try any of the restaurants in the area but there were many available. We did get frozen yogurt at ChillOut-great place! We loved visiting downtown Alton early in the morning before we left the area to resume our trip. Many historical buildings and of course the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank McCauleyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
2.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn -- Alton
Comfort Inn -- Alton
#4 of 5 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edwardsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection
20.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Alton
Super 8 Alton
#3 of 5 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel
Address: 1900 Homer M Adams Pkwy, Rte 3, Alton, IL 62002-5607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing