We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Okay, so I'm from Alton, and was back for a family reunion. I must admit that I didn't have high hopes with the BW in Alton, but was very, very pleased with the hotel and accommodations.

The hotel was very clean and well-lit, everything worked as expected, even the free in-room wifi was fairly zippy. (Good enough to watch Netflix even.)

The staff was great and very accommodating.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
97
58
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding this past weekend. We got a reduced rate for the wedding block of rooms, and still spent a little over $200 for two nights. I thought it was a little steep for a Best Western in Alton, but we did not have much choice since this is where everyone from the wedding was staying. Check in was easy, and the front desk person was very friendly. The room was average size, and appeared very clean. You have complimentary WiFi, so that's definitely a plus. Bed was a little hard for my liking, and a couple of the pillows were lumpy. We had a microwave and refrigerator in the room also. They do serve breakfast. It's a mix of typical continental breakfast fare, mixed with a couple hot items. The biggest problem I had with the hotel was the walls seemed paper thin. My wife and I could hear people's conversations in the room next door, and when anyone was in the hall, it was as if they were in the room with you.
If I was in Alton, I might stay here again just based on cleanliness and staff, but I would probably look at other properties also. I will say that everyone we ran into that worked here were very friendly, and seemed to care about the guest having a good experience. Not a bad place to stay by any means, just not above average in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We needed a place to stay while visiting relatives. We looked at several options in the Alton, IL, area and found this place. The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was standard fare at this place but a little slow, but we went for breakfast at the busy time. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistygreen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent the night in one of the King size rooms and it was great. The room was very large for a hotel room, the bed and pillows were excellent, the room was very clean, and the microwave and fridge were great to have. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in might be a little noisy when the pool is open because the pool was right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gays
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here May 10, 2013 for one night. Booked through Best Western website for a good rate and then got email about a Manager's Special so called this hotel and they gave me the special rate which saved me $5. We had a funeral to attend here and I checked the reviews and they were all pretty favorable for this hotel. Check in was quick, the room was clean with nice bedding and the bed was very comfy. The free breakfast was ok, some hot items and the regular cereal, toast, bagels, & yogurt. Several restaurants in this area too. We ate at St. Louis Bread Co. right across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel passed most of my basic tests. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, wi-fi worked well, breakfast was good. The room was nicely equipped with a refrigerator and microwave and my room was spacious. Plenty of electric outlets for charging various devices.

Average- to below-average water pressure in the shower, which is one of my pet peeves, and is the main reason I only rated this facility 4 out of 5.

Easy access to main highways, and plenty of shopping and dining available in the area.

I cashed in a free night to stay here, but the rates appeared to be reasonable and I would certainly consider staying here again if I am in the Alton area.

One caveat: the hotel appears to be in a poor signal area for AT&T cell service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this Best Western and had a terrible check-in experience, but otherwise it was a very good property. Not only was our assigned non-smoking room very recently smoked in, but in the Guest Directory, my wife found a dollar bill carefully folded around some white powder. The staff quickly reassigned us, and everything after that seemed fine -- the new room was large and comfortable, and breakfast was better than most. But, overlooked smoking smell? White powder?? I'm not sure we'd want to return to find out what goes on here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/Alton
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier - St Louis Regional Airport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn -- Alton
Comfort Inn -- Alton
#5 of 5 in Alton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection
14.9 mi away
Ruebel Hotel
Ruebel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grafton
189 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel
Address: 1900 Homer Adams Parkway, Rte 3, Alton, IL 62002-5607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing