We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery with a Swedish menu”
Review of Hedman Vineyards

Hedman Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Alto Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Eastern European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hedman Vineyards is a winery and restaurant located along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. Opened in 2005 by the namesake of the vineyards, Anders & Gerd Hedman, they have grown into a staple of the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail by offering some of the best food and wine to be found in Southern Illinois and the Heartland.Hedman Vineyards sits at the foot of the road leading to Bald Knob cross and is easily accessible from Illinois routes 127 & 51. Full service for guests who chose in- and outdoor dining, available reservations, and an accessible ten acres of vineyards make Hedman Vineyards a fantastic choice for spending the day and/or evening with friends and family.More important to the experience at Hedman Vineyards is the culture which supports the business. Anders and Gerd can be found, on most days, prepping traditional Swedish cuisine for lunch and dinner. To compliment our rich tradition of delectable Swedish cuisine we also offer wines made with strong European and Swedish influences.For the dry wine drinker we offer a Norton (Our favorite) & Chambourcin, along with several other dry and semi-dry wines. For those with a taste for something a bit more sweet we offer wines made from both peaches and grapes, including our award-winning Peach Dessert Wine.Whether for conversation, great wine, fantastic food, specialty gifts from our Scandinavian gift shop, or just the beautiful scenery, we hope you'll join us on your next trip to the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hedmans is located in an large old Peach Barn. They are known for their peach wine, which if you like sweet it is really smooth. We have eaten here and had the Weiner Schnitzel which was good. This winery is on the Shawnee wine trail and is close to the Bald Knob cross so you can make a day of enjoying the scenery and enjoying this small but enjoyable winery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedmanVineyards, Guest Relations Manager at Hedman Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, Macska!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent food in a simple setting. Hedman's cafe isn't fancy but the food is so good. Don't miss the Swedish meatballs with lingonberries. I also recommend the warm Glogg in cold weather which is Scandinavian mulled wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mirtle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

One of the best places to eat in the area, Had The Swedish Meatballs and they were awesome. They have some good wines too, a small selection but definitely worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SoccerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was scrumptious. I had mushroom crapes and they were delectable. The wine was very good and they made me feel welcome on my 1st visit to the Southern IL wine trail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gypsy3family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedmanVineyards, Guest Relations Manager at Hedman Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

That's great to hear! We'd love to see you on your next trip through the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. Stay in touch!

-Hedman Vineyards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I visited this winery over the weekend. Unfortunately, we must have come at a bad time. When we walked in the place was in need of some cleaning. There was a table of dirty dishes that had clearly been sitting there a long time. We thought we would grab some food while there but after seeing the conditions inside we decided against it. The wine tasting was free and the girl that helped us was nice, however she and some friends were chatting the entire time we were there rather than actually working. It was a bit awkward...

Thank STLTravelGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedmanVineyards, Guest Relations Manager at Hedman Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hey STLTravelGirl78,

Our apologies for a less than favorable experience and for taking a couple of months to reply. Being a smaller winery/restaurant doesn't give us an excuse for the mess you encountered on a day we weren't at peak performance.

We can't change the experience you had in July, but if you'd be willing to give us one more shot we'd love the opportunity to impress you. If you make it back to the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail and would feel comfortable making reservations for you and your husband we would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business again.

We appreciate your feedback, and will use it to better our service to all guests.

Sincerely,



Hedman Vineyards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hedman Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing