We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline View Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alto Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline View Cabins
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed in cabin 2 and had a wonderful time. The view is spectacular, and you are a short distance away from MANY beautiful sites in Shawnee National Forest, along with being located on the Illinois Wine Trail. With 3 bedrooms and 2 baths and kitchens, it would be a great place to share with friends/family. Beautiful decor, including artwork from local artists. The interior is unlike any "cabin" I've ever stayed in - lush towels and linens, full kitchens, along with an outdoor hot tub in cabin 2. We could've sat on the swing on the upper floor porch for hours, just relaxing and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takeahike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We were looking for a getaway from the city, saw the reveiws for the cabins, and took off for a weekend to Southern Illinois. We were so very happy with our trip! The cabin was very quaint; small but had enough room for everyone (we traveled with our two boys ages 13 and 10). The kitchen was well stocked wtih utensils making it easy to eat in. (Groceries are a bit of a drive, so plan accordingly!) The layout of the cabin worked well with the boys. We actually took one of the upstairs bedrooms and the boys stayed on the lower level with a tv and big sitting area to hang out. The view from the back porch was fantastic and the hummingbirds pratically knoced on the kitchen window! The sheets and towels were great and the beds were very comfy. There are two cabins on the property and they are a little closer together than I would have liked, but honestly, I can't say that I heard any noise or that they were a distraction to our weekend in any way. All in all, a great little getaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Our son and family (grandsons 10 and 12) joined us for a three day break at this very attractive location. Two bi-level "cabins" sit behind the proprietors home and overlook the Shawnee National Forest with a beautiful view. To compensate for a limited view, our cabin provided a hot tub. Only two years old, our cabin had a kitchen, bath and t.v. on each level. The facility was well stocked with good quality dinnerware and anything needed to provide a comfortable stay. We did not use the wood burning fireplace or the herb garden. However, the hummingbird feeders provided an added attraction, along with a tour of the wineries in the area. Only slight negative was a bit of one lumpy saggy bed--others were fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Thanks Jan York for a wonderful time at Skyline View Cabins! Gorgeous cabins, very comfortable, like being at home! Great artwork throughout. I loved listening to the birds each morning. I'll be checking your availability for the end of June to come back with my husband.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terlor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

We were greated by a very friendly Jan York and things went well from there on out. Since both cabins were empty we were afforded the opportunity to check them both out and then decide which one we wanted to stay in. There were maps and brochures in the cabin to help us decide what we wanted to explore. We hiked the Little Grand Canyon and walked the trails at Giant City Park. Being from the city, our kids don't get to see these things. We were able to make this trip an educational one due to the history of Southern Illinois. We will definitely return to the cabins and we recommend anyone to try them out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bekahmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Over Spring Break with our 3 and 11 year old kids, we stayed in Cabin 1 (Cabin 2 is next door), which is a modern cabin with two floors, three bedrooms plus a futon, fireplace, gas grill, full kitchen, two porches, two very nice TVs with built in DVD, and a porch swing. There is a washing machine and dryer available if you are staying long enough.

The cabins are on a ridge overlooking the Shawnee National Forest and the Trail of Tears State Park, about 20 minutes south of Carbondale, which is about a 6 hour drive from Chicago. The lady who owns the cabins, Jan, lives next door. She’s very friendly, and is an artist. I believe that she owns a gallery in the tiny town of Makanda. The cabin is decorated with artwork from the gallery that’s for sale. Some of it is blown-glass, so we had to move some of it so the kids wouldn’t break it, but it wasn’t a big problem. She welcomes both kids and dogs in the cabins.

While we were there we did a lot of hiking. The cabin is near the Little Grand Canyon, Giant City State Park, and a number of other hiking trails, including the River to River Trail. It’s not too far from Illinois’s only cypress swamp. We saw frogs, fence lizards, garter snakes, a black rat snake, and all sorts of birds.

In addition, the cabin is near 12 wineries (the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail: http://www.shawneewinetrail.com/). And there’s a really tasty pizza place in tiny Cobden (close enough that you can do take out).

We also visited Fort Massac, which was a fort from before the American Revolution until the Civil War. It’s about an hour’s drive from the cabin. (You can see names of Civil War soldiers carved into the rocks at Giant City State Park which is so cool for us history buffs.)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed here to visit family over Thanksgiving and it was absolutely wonderful. I felt completely at home, not like I was in a hotel at all. It was fully furnished with pretty much everything we needed. For staying in late November, the view was nice, I can only imagine what it is like in early fall!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jowanabme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alto Pass
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Skyline View Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline View Cabins

Property: Skyline View Cabins
Address: 2625 Skyline Dr, Alto Pass, IL 62905-3214
Location: United States > Illinois > Alto Pass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Alto Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful view in Southern Illinois awaits your arrival. This breathtaking scene of the Shawnee Forest is only available from the deck of your cabin. Located on the wine trail in Alto Pass, IL., Skyline View Cabins are nestled in the woods at the edge of 20 private acres on the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. The Skyline View Cabins are truly extraordinary. All main level cabins have vaulted ceilings in the living room, kitchen and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline View Cabins Hotel Alto Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing