We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good because i was tired. otherwise keep driving to...”
Review of Relax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relax Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Altamont
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
3
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SEWICKLEY
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything was fine. Although the location was not as good as I would have liked, the whole experience was everything I expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank PHYLLIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Fork, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had to argue with them about my service dog - they wanted to charge us a fee for him - which is against the law. The room was so dirty and stained that we kept the dog up on the bed and treated him for fleas just before we left. No bedbugs and decent internet, but this place was nasty and poorly maintained with obnoxious owners. The only reason that we stopped was that ALL of the hotels in Eff8ngham were full. Nasty!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altamont hotels

Springfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We started our vacation driving east and decided to stop here on our first night. Rooms were a bit run down but the staff more than made up for that! They were very nice to us and did everything they could to make us feel welcome. We discovered the next day after we had left and were in New York that we had left our new gel pillows there. I called the property and the gentleman assured us he had them and would keep them for us. On our way back, we stopped and he had them for us in a bag. He even made us some coffee for the rest of our trip. Anytime we are travelling this way again, and need to stop, this is going to be our first pick of a hotel to stay!!!! The room was cleaner than most Super 8's and a very good value for the money.

Room Tip: They have a nice playground for children but no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarcookie429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

There was this group of loud,drunk,males staying in bunches in several rooms. Management would do nothing to control the yelling, hollering, swearing, etc. I understand that these were locals, and this is a regular occurrence. It was just a terrible experience. The rooms are old and smell terrible. They need a complete update, I mean stripped to the walls. As for the super start breakfast, what a joke. Two types of stale cereal and nearly spoiled milk. This was a disappointing stay and I would advise everyone against staying here. You will not feel comfortable, or even safe, with all the drunks around and no management involvement to help out. Heed my warning and don't stay at this rat hole.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
128 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We checked into the Super 8 Motel at 7:10. It was $65 for the room plus a $10 pet deposit. This was pretty high for a Super 8 out in the middle of nowhere, but I put it on my credit card. At 7:15, we got a call from home, and we decided not to stay at this hotel and push on to get home more quickly. I asked the woman the front desk for my money back and we were not going to stay after all. She said that her manager had to look over the room first to make sure there's nothing wrong. It was reasonable, so I waited about 15 minutes for Mr. Patel to show up. He took a cursory glance around the room, then he glanced into the bathroom. He told me there would be no refund. I told him that we only had the room for 5 minutes, and we never brought our luggage in from the car. He looked mean and said that there was no way he was going to refund the money. I was mad! Mr. Patel asked if I wanted to call the police, and I said yes! we went to the front desk, and I asked the woman to call the police. Mr. Patel spoke to her like a dog and told her to get in the other room. He told me that I am not to talk to her, and he will call the police himself. Officer Aaron from the Altamont police Dept. arrived in short order. First he spoke with Mr. Patel who said that we used a toilet in his room so there would be no refund. Office Aaron took my ID and information. He was fair, tough and asked really good questions. I showed him my time-stamped receipt from the credit card machine. He looked at his cell phone to see it was only minutes ago. Officer Aaron explained that this is a civil situation, and he cannot order Mr. Patel to refund my money. However, he did a great job trying to get us to come to an agreement. Mr. Patel offered to refund $35, but I said that's unacceptable. Mr. Patel went on about the fact that I had a dog. I offered to let him keep the pet deposit, and I'll take the $65 refund. Mr. Patel refused. He said that I rented the room just to use the bathroom. I pointed to a McDonald's sign across the street, and I explained that we have been using McDonald's restrooms for 6,000 miles; I had no reason to rent a room to go to the bathroom. I pointed out that I had declared the dog and paid the pet deposit rather than trying to sneak her into the room. Why would he think that I'm trying to rent the room to use the bathroom? Mr. Patel refused to refund the money. Officer Aaron dismissed me, and he set to questioning Mr. Patel as I left the office. Mr. Patel still has my $74, and I never spent more than 5 minutes in the room. I contacted Super 8, and they are standing behind Mr. Patel. They said it's his word against mine; therefore they will do nothing.

  • Liked — near I-70
  • Disliked — Mr. Patel kept $74, even though we only spent 5 minutes in the room - no refunds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank matthewbcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altamont
0.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Altamont, IL
21.2 mi away
Ramada Vandalia
Ramada Vandalia
#3 of 5 in Vandalia
265 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
11.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Property: Relax Inn
Address: 3091 E Mill Rd, Altamont, IL 62411
Location: United States > Illinois > Altamont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Altamont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax Inn is right off the interstate 70 and is a quite and peaceful location. This was a Super 8 franchise but we just recently changed our name to Relax Inn. Our rooms hold up to the standards of franchise hotels, and one could say are even better. All rooms include flat-screen 39" LED TVs, mini-fridges, microwaves, coffee-machines, and air-conditioning. There is free WiFi, a playground, and truck parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Altamont
Super Eight Altamont
Altamont Super 8
Altamont Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing