We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Stayed at the Doubletree last weekend for a wedding. The service at the front desk was good and they are very professional and treated the wedding guests very nicely. Our first room was 223 or 233. When we got there, there was a really loud sound coming from inside the room - I thought someone was in there vacuuming or drying their hair. We opened the door and there was a very large fan in the room. Another guest walked by and said that they had originally been given the room but moved due to the damp and the odor. We went back to the front desk. They apologized and assigned another room and a free continental breakfast after my fiance asked for it because this had delayed us and caused us to miss the shuttle to the reception. Our next room, 239 didn't have the damp/mildew smell, although it did seem pretty humid. When we returned that evening, I found that there was a portion of the carpeting that had a very large wet spot over by the window. At that point, I was too tired to try to change rooms. Aside from that, everything else was good and the room was clean and if I had to stay in the area would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 856 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2007

Nice property although if you're going to Chicago its pretty far from the city. I requested a non-smoking room and got a room that had obviously been a smoking room in the past. It smelled like smoke, and when I returned home I could smell smoke and mildew on my clothes.
The staff, however, was friendly. The food at the restaurant was decent. They comped me a breakfast, and one of the front desk workers went out of her way to help me with directions to the airport.
If the room had smelled clean - this would've been a very positive review.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank watertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed here last night after being stranded at Midway airport during a snowstorm. We were told by the airport information desk that the Doubletree was an airport hotel, but it took a good 25 minutes and 9 miles of stoplights on Cicero Rd. to get here. This was not the hotel's fault -I'm including it only for reference in case someone is looking for a place close to the airport. The hotel itself doesn't market itself as an airport property, they're just nice enough to provide a shuttle that far away for the convenience of its guests.

The hotel itself is very nice. You will need a car, as nothing is within walking distance of the property. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Mattresses are a bit old, but not necessary to replace just yet. Front desk staff is VERY personal and friendly (esp. Brian) and restaurant is good but expensive. Nice pool and fitness room. Bathroom amenities are generous. The cookies at check-in are a nice touch, just the same as any other Doubletree. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank saxorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We had an nice stay but the problem we had is when we called to make the reservation i was told that we can have adjoining rooms with 2 doubles in each because of the children i had with me....and that breakfast was include............well upon check in either of those statements were correct. I would make my reservations on the web and then call the hotel and speak to someone at the front desk and not a 1-800 person because they didnt know the hotel at all...........

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shell823lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadTownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
393 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing