We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but don't see why pay premium for less than excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
Alsip, United States
2 reviews
“Good but don't see why pay premium for less than excellent”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

location is very good for me to commute to work in Harvey, IL. Because of brutal Chicago Winter weather, guests get to stay indoor but there are not much things to do. Restaurants near are not very near and only Pizza places seem to deliver. Solider Field is 40 miles away so I'm thinking about selling my Bears tickets, playing against Packers on the 29th of Dec.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jaysk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and business, we are happy to hear that we are a convenient choice close to your work location. Next time you are in town please consult with our Front Desk or Bellstand for area restaurant recommendations, we are also more than happy to give you a ride over. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and ensure your dining needs are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    230
    114
    39
    30
See reviews for
258
138
41
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was so impressed with this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and friendly. I was there for a BER conference. I would definitely stay again. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was good, too. However, the most important thing was how wonderful the staff of the Double Tree Hotel was. Every employee I saw, from those working maintenance to the manager, had a smile on their face. They were extremely professional and kind. They took pride in the work they were doing and made me feel like I was one of their most important customers. They had a complimentary shuttle to Midway, which had the train we took into Chicago. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the conference that you were attending and more importantly our service and accommodations. Thank you for your overall review and business to our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We did the stay/park/fly at DoubleTree - It was so convenient to hop on the shuttle and go to the airport. We have stayed here before and had excellent service. We anticipate great service on our return trip with catching the shuttle back to the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our Park and Fly Package useful. We hope that you are having a great vacation and look forward to serving you upon your return. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The restuarant was very expensive, but the food was excellent. The pool had no hot tub. The room was average and very noisy. The bartender at night seemed in a hurry to get home, didn't appear that he liked his job vey much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We take a great deal of pride in meeting our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. I am so sorry that you found our restaurant to be somewhat pricey and that your room was noisy. I can assure you that our main concern is for all our guests to have a comfortable stay and very much empathize with your dissatisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please be assured that we will take your feedback into consideration to make sure we make any necessary changes where feasible.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A member of the staff here stole my credit card info and tried to charge $3,000 at an Apple store. I have my card and this was the only place I had used it. The halls are loud and the place is packed. People running up and down the halls banging on doors and wall all night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology if your credit card went missing while staying with us. We want you to know that we have taken this very seriously and are taking all the necessary steps to thoroughly investigate this incident. Our customers’ personal property is always respected and I sincerely apologize if this caused you any inconvenience. When credit cards are swiped on property, at check in or in our restaurant, our security software scrambles the number automatically.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Our Front Office Manager has already tried to reach out to you personally to gather more information from you so that we can rectify this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The check in process was very quick and easy; the front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was very fresh and clean, bedding was very comfortable; Sue took good care of me and all the other patrons at the onsite restaurant; she makes you feel comfortable and at home. This hotel is a good value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Sue our bartender is a living legend to us, thank you for acknowledging her! She is truly a one person show and handles everything in the bar from serving drinks to a full meal in addition to making everyone, new and tenured to the property, feel welcome. We are most happy to hear that you feel we provide good value for the amenities and services offered. Thank you for your review and business. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
245 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A colleague selected this hotel because he knew we would have time to kill after attending a business meeting. He wanted a bar to sit in, that's not my thing but I was along for the ride.

Upon arrival we were quickly checked-in and on our way to our rooms. The lobby and common areas were all very clean and polished. The elevators are some of the slowest I have ever experienced but they got the job done.

The room was larger than average and nicely furnished. Everything worked as expected and I had no problems in the room. I slept well and noticed very little noise from the hall and none from adjacent rooms.

The fitness area was nice and the machines in good working order. I did not use the pool but it did look nice.

The bar area (where we also had dinner) was nice and had several televisions so we could keep up with the nights games. The bartender was obviously overwhelmed with running the bar and serving the numerous table who were also having dinner. I am not sure why someone was not pulled over from the main dining room to assist.

The breakfast buffet (comped with my room) was excellent and the staff in the dining room were stellar.

Overall I had a good stay and might return if the price was right. We got a good room rate but typically I don't think the price is well aligned with the property/service level.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the highway and did not notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your detailed overall review. It seems like you were able to utilize all of our hotel's amenities besides the pool itself and we are happy to have received your positive feedback. When you are back in the area please double check our website for guest room rates and compare them to the other full service properties in the area. We hope that you will continue to find value in our hotel compared to others; we consistently review our price positioning. Thank you for your business and we look forward to having you as a guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
7.7 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#114 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing