We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the lights go out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
st. louis, United States
2 reviews
“the lights go out!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel several times because of its proximity to our daughter's college... the condition of the rooms was not what I expected for a Double Tree/ Marriott property... cracks in bathroom walls, moldy caulk, etc....on our last visit there was a storm and the electricity went out around 10:45pm for several hours...I got no sleep because of this... the staff was very nice & apologetic about it & I asked & received a flashlight.... I am esp. disappointed that the rooms do not have refrigerators & the front lobby does not have coffee available at anytime- even in the morning... I did ask & was given some in the morning but it should be made available...great warm choc. chip cookies upon check in--- sure would have been good w/ some coffee!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I do sincerely apologize about the power outage. Unfortunately lightning hit our power lines which knocked out one of our transformers, yes we love Mother Nature. Please e-mail me directly so that I can get some further information from you about the condition of your room so that we can correct these issues. I can be contacted directly at chias_gm@hilton.com, please place your name and "trip advisor" review in the subject line so that I know the e-mail is not spam. I look forward to hearing from you so that we may resolve this issue. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    235
    119
    41
    31
See reviews for
265
141
44
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. The facility is clean and quiet and the staff is always accommodating. I have family, located close to the hotel, and it is quite convenient for us. A real bargain in today's market.

Room Tip: Request rooms that are not overlooking the parking lot for the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. We are happy that we have been able to meet and exceed you needs each and every time. See you next time, we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything about the event on 5/30 was excellent. The luncheon was enjoyed by all. Food cooked to a turn. Table settings beautiful, staff was so attentive. Thank you Doubletree for making this a memorable event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your colleagues enjoyed your reunion. I hope that you all had a great time together and were able to catch up. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay, onsite bar, restaurant, etc. Highly recommend Rooms are extremely clean, personnel are very friendly. Food is good and breakfast buffet is top shelf. Plenty of parking, several Chicago specialty restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgoherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your overall review, we are happy that you enjoyed our location, bar and restaurant, and accommodations. Thank you for your business, please keep us in mind next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Multiple family members stayed here for a nearby wedding a week ago. The staff was very attentive to the various special needs of our group as well as any other requests/questions we had during our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. We ate in the onsite restaurant multiple times, at various times of the day, and always had fantastic meals and friendly wait staff. One of our members rented a one-bedroom suite which was large enough to accommodate our downtime gatherings. My only complaint is that the rooms do not come with mini refrigerators; we had to rent one for an extra $20.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and your business, we sincerely appreciate it. We are happy that you enjoyed our accommodations and on site restaurant/bar. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family had three rooms at this hotel, all of us were on the same floor, from the moment we walked in the service was out standing, all the rooms were clean and tidy, my husband and myself had a take out lunch from the bar, the flat bread was good, we were able to sit in the courtyard and enjoy cocktails and lunch, thanks to the manager for that, we didn't do breakfast but friends of ours did and said the food was good, would use this hotel again, Its a good stay if you plan on going to the local golf/ banquet hall,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank wolfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our restaurant items in the comfort of a beautiful Chicago day; I know it sounds strange, in our outdoor courtyard. Thank you for your review and business. We look forward to giving you "outstanding" service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Over all it was a great experience! Personnel was happy to be of service and the hotel was very clean! The down pillows and blankets were to comfortable! Great locations and plenty of restaurants and movie theater nearby!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and business. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and were able to find nearby attractions. Next time you are in town please don't hesitate to ask our staff about other area amenities such as new restaurants. We are most thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the intangible service from our team member that makes our hotel what it is. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Southland
7.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing