We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FELT LIKE WE WERE FAMILY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“FELT LIKE WE WERE FAMILY”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We checked into the Doubletree on September 14, 2012 to stay a few nights, enjoy Chicago and attend a school reunion. We have traveled and checked into a lot of Hotels but one thing really stood out for us at this Doubletree, her name is Laura Beltrame. I have never felt such a genuine, warm and inviting welcome. Laura was so kind and professional. Honestly.. She made us feel like family. From the warm cookie to the soft smile we knew it was going to be a really great stay. Laura went beyond the call of duty to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our extended weekend in Chicago. In fact we had such a great time we stayed an extra night. Ron Celmer runs a very tight ship in his dining room serving up one of the best breakfast buffets ever. You can tell Laura & Ron are good managers because the entire staff seemed happy. Yes I mean the entire staff.. maids, servers (Cassey & Phil) the hostess and everyone at the front desk. A CLEAN, FRIENDLY HOTEL, OUTSTANDING & HAPPY EMPLOYEES, DELICIOUS COOKIES ALL AT A GREAT PRICE!! We know where we will be staying every trip into Chicago and we suggest you check it out as well. Thanks Laura...see you soon. Room #506

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosandalsneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive remarks in all areas of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your comments with the management team here at the hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the true spirit of "caring" hospitality for which DoubleTree by Hilton is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    242
    119
    43
    33
See reviews for
273
143
45
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very nice hotel in Alsip, IL. Many wonderful conference rooms. Staff was beyond helpful (I lost my key several times, and they had a great sense of humor). The marketing staff is beyond friendly and geniune about it. Work with Michele if you have company business here. She got me 12 rooms with little notice for a big company event while most of Chicago was booked.

Comfortable rooms and accomodations.

Room Tip: So far, all rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had a great meeting/conference experience while here on property and that our team was able to accommodate your last minute requests. We look forward to serving you in the future and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding (wedding was not at the hotel) and there were several other weddings taking place over the weekend. The hotel was fairly noisy due to all of the people around celebrating, but the beds were very comfortable so we still slept well. Staff was great for my check-in, but when other people attending the wedding checked-in they didn't give guests all the information they needed. Bar service was slow on Friday night because there was only one bartender, but she did a good job and was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we will utilize your points to ensure we staff up appropriately when business requires it. Over the weekends the hotel is a much different atmosphere than the weekdays due to social business. Thank you again for your posting and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've read some of the other reviews. Honestly, I can't imagine a better hotel for what it does. I've stayed many, many times. Yes, it is not right by Midway (it's about half an hour south of there), but I wouldn't downgrade the hotel itself for that reason. (I would actually prefer heading to this hotel than staying at one near Midway - old and crowded there.) Also, I traveled frequently for 10 years, and I notice things like noise and older mattresses. This hotel is quiet. (I notice one person had an issue, but the structure is spread out and there nothing but fields behind the hotel so I'd just request a quiet room in advance if that's important to you.) The beds are very comfortable with crisp, white sheets. The pool is nicely done for a hotel pool: it's clean, large, well maintained, and set in a nice area. It's easily accessible from 294, Cicero and 127th. The hotel looks just like the photos in its web site. The best part - the rooms are reasonably priced. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Wow, thank you for your extremely thorough review of our entire facility. We are extremely appreciative that you mentioned many of the services that our hotel offers and approve of our price to value relationship. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The owner and staff are beyond attentive and responsive! Upon check in we were given hot chocolate chip cookies... fabulous touch! The room was very clean... looks like it was newly redecorated, fresh and bright. We had technical difficulties (our issue) in the business center, the staff once again went out of their way to help! Our room was quiet, even with the majority of the guests staying in the hotel attending a Irish football tournament, young and loud...but in our room no noise. The hotel has reminder signs posted reminding guests of quiet zones. We travel a lot, and highly recommend this safe, clean, professionally staffed hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocklyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive remarks. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the Football Team wasn't too much of a distraction. We tried to be as proactive with this group in advance and brought in more managers and 3rd party security guards to assist with this large group. Thank you again for your remarks and business. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Let me start by stating that I try to choose Doubletree as a preferred destination as often as I can. But this location is NOT like the Doubletree I am familiar with.

I checked in on a Friday at 11pm, after a long day of travel with my 8yr old and we were looking forward to a good night sleep. But this is not the place for that. The noise level is off the charts. Guests in other rooms were hosting family & friend gatherings in their rooms and they extremely loud, with children were running up/down the hallways, a complete disregard to other guests privacy. This took place up to 1AM.

I tried to shun some of the noise by turning on the bathroom fan and cranking up the AC, but this wasn't enough. I called the front desk twice to request they do something about this. They responded quickly, but after the first visit, the guests continued to get louder. I checked out the next morning because I did not want to experience this again.

The room was nice and comfortable, but the environment was not the best. I expected a much better experience. Upon checkout I notified the front desk. They apologized and offered a free breakfast. I understand that they can't control the behavior of guests but they should encourage those type of gatherings to take place in the lounges of the main level.

Room Tip: in peace and quiet is what you're searching for... you might not find it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are so sorry about the disruptions that you endured while our guest. I would appreciate it if you would be so kind to contact me personally so that I might be able to retrieve some further information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you, please contact me at jacob.washlow@hilton.com and place your name-trip advisor in the subject line so that I know who this e-mail is coming from and that it is not spam.

Once again we apologize for this inconvenience and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I travel to this hotel several times a year for business. My last trip there was exceptional. The staff is courteous and attentive to their guests. The breakfast room service was prompt and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandi147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and it is great to hear that all our service departments exceeded your expectations, especially in-room dining! We look forward to serving you again in the near future and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Chicago Southland
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing