We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
DeWitt, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Satisfactory Hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel was completely satisfactory. I was in town for a youth volleyball tournament and this hotel was very close to the venue. I was pleased with the management for arranging a group discount for us. The pool was a little dirty (stuff floating in the water) so the kids only swam for about a half hour, which was disappointing. The bar area was very nice with a great selection for the parents! Rooms were fine and check-in was speedy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSchawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel during the volleyball tournament. I have brought your comment about the pool to the attention of our Chief Engineer, he will discuss it with his team as a role play. We do three rounds throughout the day to ensure areas are clean and conditionally sound, but it sounds like the pool was very busy that day and we didn't keep up with cleaning it more than three times, which I apologize for. If this occurs again in the future please just let us know and we will resolve the matter immediately. This is an easy fix for us and only takes around 20 minutes to vacuum the inside of the pool. Thank you again for your business and bringing this to our attention. All the best to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    242
    119
    43
    33
See reviews for
273
143
45
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Booked through Priceline for an overnight stay before an early flight out of Midway. We did not need the shuttle, but it was offered to us several times. We greeted warmly by every staff person we encountered, and assistance was offered by all. The room was clean and comfortable. Although we were awakened by some loud guests, the duration was short and not repeated. The airport was a straight shot up the road - very convenient. Would definately stay again. Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aacmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. Our hotel prides itself on being hospitable and friendly to all our guests, it is the warm and caring personality of Doubletree. But we are sorry to "hear" that there was a bit of noise in the hallway. Please know that we have security in the hotel at night and if this should occur during another one of your stays please call the operator and let them know. The operator will then dispatch security to the area immediately. Thank you again for your business, and sharing your stay with others. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stay for convenience at the Doubletree when visiting family. Friendly staff, clean rooms.

My husband had a problem with the sheets coming untucked at the bottom of the bed a couple of nights; he commented that the sheets may be too small. Also, a blanket would have been appreciated -- I had to turn up the thermostat after the first night to avoid waking up cold.

But overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. For future reference we do have extra blankets, please just dial the careline or the operator and we will be happy to bring one up to you. Happy New Year to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We arrived at the hotel around 5:00 p.m. and the front desk clerks were very nice and helpful, the room was nice and clean as was the pool. Although we did have an issue with the room when we contacted the front desk the Manager on call was at our door within minutes.

The Manager moved us to a Suite on the 2nd floor and took of the charges for the room for the night.

The Manager and Staff were by far the best that I have encountered probably ever!!!!
and went out of their way to accomadate me in every way.

I will continue to stay here when flying out of Chicago Midway from this point on.

A big THANK YOU to the staff and manager of Doubletree on 12/18/2011

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback. I was also very pleased to hear that when you had an issue that you asked for a manager, at night time we always have a manager on duty on once the "regular" team leaves for the day. This is not to say that the rest of the team couldn't assist you, but we try to make ourselves available also. Happy Holidays to you and your loved ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed at the Alsip Doubletree based on a local recommendation. We used the hotel for two business meetings - one of about 60 people and one of about 35, both with meals catered by the hotel. The rooms were set up as requested and at the correct times. The event staff was extremely helpful and handled every request quickly. In addition, we used the shuttle, the restaurant, bar and the hotel and everyone there was just as helpful. It is clear that the hotel building itself is not new but it is very well-cared for and very clean. The food was very good in the small restaurant and with the catering and we really could not have asked for any better service. We were extremely pleased with the service and very much appreciate the service!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. It sounds like you were able to experience all aspects of our property and we are extremely pleased that you had a positive one. Yes the exterior of the building is older but we continuously renovate the interior, we are definitely a diamond in the rough (looks can be deceiving). We hope to serve you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days prior to my wedding. It was a decent stay though I had the sniffles every night which I would attribute to a mold odor...though I didn't see any. The hotel had been updated and the rooms are nice and large with the beds very comfortable. The service was excellent and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for commenting on your stay, we sincerely appreciate your business and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the furnishings within your guestroom. We just thoroughly went through the room looking for any signs of "mold." Nothing was found at this point in time, but it did seem that the bathroom curtain was still damp and did have a slight odor to it which I think might have been the cause of the smell. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I will be meeting with our Housekeeping Management Staff to see what we can do to avoid this opportunity in the future. Congratulation on your marriage and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were warmly greeted with out WARM cookies. Very clean room. The shuttle driver went above and beyond. When we returned at 1:30 a.m. he was waiting for us!!!! That is soooo helpful at that hour when you have been traveling and just want to get home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Chicago Southland
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing