We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, sauce was better”
Review of Texan Barbeque

Texan Barbeque
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Algonquin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Iowa
Level Contributor
534 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Food is good, sauce was better”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A no frills place that invites you in with the great aroma of BBQ.

Normally I order pork ribs but I opted to try their 1/2 Slab Texas Beef Ribs. In my opinion, there wasn't a lot of meat on them but what meat it did have was very tasty and topped with a very good house BBQ sauce.

The meal also came with a side of beans, coleslaw, and dinner roll so there is an ample amount of food.

While I have had better BBQ, I would certainly come back to try any of their other menu options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I've had better bbq.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The bbq beef sandwich was more bun than beef. I've had the ribs and wasn't impressed either. The decor looks like it's been there for decades.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnajm316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall, Great Food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stopped in here while out for a mini road-trip. You order at a window but a server brings your food out to you, which is fine. They offer a variety of craft beers, as well, which is a great compliment to any BBQ meal. I had the brisket, and the others had the pulled pork. The meat was smoked and delicious. There was a variety of sauces to top the meat as well, but the meat was so good, it didn't need any enhancement. The beans were awful, in my opinion, and should be skipped. I liked everything else, however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good bbq”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

No atmosphere at all here if that's what you are looking for. But in terms of bbq, it is very good. You won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a favorite.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Texan BBQ, this is not the place. It was ok, but just average. It tasted like a bottled BBQ sauce poured on just before being served.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 94Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texan Barbeque also viewed

 
 

Been to Texan Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing