We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints!”
Review of Montarra

Montarra
Reserve with OpenTable
Montarra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 112 Restaurants in Algonquin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: County Line Rd
Lake in the Hills, IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hands down one of the best restaurants in the area. Menu continuously varies, service whether in the bar, restaurant or food to go is always outstanding! The brie&blue fondue is amazing, steaks are perfect every time and the seafood is also always excellent. Have never had a bad or even just average meal here. A bit pricey but worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gourmet restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Gourmet dishes with delicious food. Very pricey but great for special occasions. Every dish has been delicious. Excellent service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trustinginHim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Poor service and dirty. We have no intention of returning. The food was lackluster, and the floor was dirty. The server we had was poorly trained. We contacted manager and received no response.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lundahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem on Randall Road”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My 81 year old mother and I dined at Montarra on July 28, 2013. This was a last minute reservation. Even though Mother lives in the area, she was unfamiliar with the restaurant. We were promptly seated upon our arrival and were served a delicious parmesan flatbread. We both had the Chicken Marsala, a chef's special for the day. The chicken breast was absolutely succulent -juicy and full of flavor. The sauce was delicious with just the perfect blend of seasonings, and was chock full of mushrooms and shallots. The risotto was creamy and had just the right texture. Service throughout the evening was nothing but exemplary. Montarra's is a great addition to Algonquin and surrounding suburbs-I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank m2violin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best in mchenry county!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything is usually really really good here. I recommend the ultimate filet, the lobster bisque, the duck tacos... And save some of those yummy lavosh chips to dip in the lobster bisque. Great atmosphere, service is usually pretty good. (Although we got the worst waitress like 3 times in a row of going there... But the food is so good it made up for her poor service) and on the way out they have the best chocolate mint sticks at the hostess stand. Love those things!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyliesue91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing