We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montarra

Montarra
Reserve with OpenTable
Montarra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 112 Restaurants in Algonquin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: County Line Rd
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Menu has changed. Mushrooms not as good. Steak good but not close to Ruths Chris or Jean and Georgeties or a few others .....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    28
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The service at Montarra Grill was exceptional. I couldn't decide between two selections and the waitress recommended I get a portion of each. It was a perfect choice to enjoy both the Scallops special with risotto with corn and ravioli. Very enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
340 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best food in Algonquin....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The food here is excellent. We've eaten at Montarra several times and have never been disappointed. Last night for appetizers we had the bacon wrapped dates and bacon wrapped scallops, both were incredible. Yes, everything does taste better with bacon, but we did we really need to have two orders of the dates? Yes! Although we didn't have them last night, the Filet Mignon Crisps are also worth ordering . We split the 10 oz Filet Mignon (they separated) and had the 3 appetizers. It really was a great meal. FYI, plenty gluten free options.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We went here because we had a restaurant.com certificate. the atmoshere is very pleasent and romantic. The food was wonderful but expensive. A great place to go on special occasions

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mogamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great find in unexpected location on Randall Rd. I couldn't believe they've been there for 8 years! As previously stated, creative, and thoughtfully prepared food. We shared small plates, and sampled lots of things, and everything was excellent. My favorite was the perfectly cooked bacon wrapped scallops. We have not had an entree, we usually order small plates so we can try more things. Not an inexpensive night out, but very reasonable for the quality of food. I can't say enough about the staff also. From the bartenders to servers, excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggerMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montarra also viewed

 

Been to Montarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing