We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

On The Border Mexican Grill
Ranked #73 of 112 Restaurants in Algonquin
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Bartenders are great! Lots of fun, food and drinks to be had by all. The regulars there love new people and encourage a good time

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
368 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“GREAT SALMON DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

For a very healthy option, On the Border has a really good Salmon in Jalapeno BBQ sauce. This is a VERY healthy plate of grilled vegetables, beans and the Salmon with a great Jalapeno Barbeque sauce.

Might as well get the $3 Margarita while you're ordering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PROF_CONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we are in the mood for Mexican food - we go to On The Border. Love the margaritas, fresh guac, and fajitas. Great outdoor seating during the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Steady results”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While not the best ever Mexican food, this place produces steady results every time. The spinach quesadillas and buffalo chicken tacos are great. Tableside guacamole prep is pretty cool to watch and tasty. Service very friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algonquin, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Catering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found ourselves with a bunch of gift cards after the holidays. Fortunately some of our family and friends got together and coordinated the purchases so we had enough from one place to do something for the whole family. Since one of the options on the gift cards was South of the Border we thought we would give it a try. We had 12 people in for the holidays, so we needed to feed them all. We decided not to trek there, but to order for takeout/catering instead. Thus we bypassed the complaint I saw about the lack of seating. The ordering process was smooth. The manager actually offered us discounts since we were placing a large order, and we ended up saving $40 on a $140 order (yes, we had a lot of people to feed). They asked for an hour to get it all set, and when we arrived to pick it up it was hot and ready to go, placed in aluminum pans that held the heat quite well.
The quality of food was fine. If you want outstanding mexican quisine, you're not going here. This is the mexican version of Applebees. However, it was all well cooked, tasty, nicely seasoned, and there was a ton of it. For a chain, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity. The menu is large, and we ordered a wide variety. All of it was good.
So, here is what you're getting, if you order take out like we did:
1. Great service and offered discounts for large orders.
2. Quick turnaround. We had planned a possible 2-3 hour wait, but they had it all ready in 60 minutes.
3. Good quality. Again, this is a chain, so the expectations are a little different from a high end mexican restaurant, like El Molino's which is not too far away.
4. Great value. For the price, you get a lot of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing