We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAFF!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAFF!!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our daughter recently got married and many of our guests stayed at this hotel - we also hosted a hospitality room here. The staff was extremely helpful and so very accommodating to all of our needs. Benjamin Beallis/General Manager, Leigh Wright/Director of Sales & Marketing, Lauri Starnes/Front Desk Supervisor, Karen and Ashley at the front desk were all EXTRA wonderful to work with. It was a wonderful experience all around! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Algonquin area - the staff is EXCEPTIONAL!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyChicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
THANK YOU! I am so glad that you had a great time and experience. Remembering all the names of those who helped you just blows me away. I'm very pleased you were happy here and I cannot wait to share your review with the staff. Again, thanks for taking the time to complete this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
47
8
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice overnight stay here. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. Had a nice surprise with an upgrade to a queen suite. Breakfast was hot and fresh. Nice updated property. We will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CandiSpfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! We take pride in taking care of you. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here one night on a business trip. It's in a good location....a tad off the beaten path so it's quiet, but close to restaurants and other businesses. They have a free happy hour in the evening. The food wasn't very good, but the beer was nice! I would stay there again, but I wouldn't have Sal's (recommended by the front desk) deliver my dinner. Long story, but there are better options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us. Sorry to hear you didn't like Sal's...we've had much success with them. Do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in this city by accident on our cross-country trip. The staff at this hotel were nice and educated with their surroundings. They recommended shops down the road for school shopping and restaurants for dinner. The rooms were a good size for a large family traveling with a baby. My kids absolutely loved the indoor pool. The breakfast was cooked at the right temperature and surprisingly
tasty. The best part about this Hotel for me is that it had enough parking for our RV. We stayed in a lot of Hotels on our cross country adventure but my family voted this Hotel "Best Overall Experience"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you! We love reviews like this and we're so happy you accidentally stumbled upon us. The staff here works hard and absolutely appreciates why they are here...to take care of our guests, like you. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I often put family up in this hotel , very clean , nice staff and very comfortable rooms just a little expensive for the location, The place is behind a high school which is weird but its far off randall rd and you don't really know its there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayw1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Glad to see that the only dislike you had was our location. We do have large signage out on Randall Road. Our apologies that it was missed. Come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stay here every time I have business in west Chicagoland. It's convenient to shopping restaurants, and the nearby communities, like Hampshire. They have some unique appetizers during the manager's reception, and breakfast is always good. My favorite room is the Jacuzzi suite. You can sit in there, relax, and watch TV after a long day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I appreciate your kind words. My staff and I work hard to be the best. Come back and visit real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go here once yearly when I need to spend a night in Algonquin, IL. The motel is completely as expected - clean, simple, staff courteous. I've never had any problems in this motel. The free breakfast is a nice touch. I've come to depend on this place staying exactly as it is, an affordable, comfortable stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank IsAirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! We appreciate your time in doing so. I'm anxious to share the information with the team. Come back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
269 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Address: 2595 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL 60102-9742 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin has re-launched with all new trademarks and amenities. As a recipient of InterContinental Hotels Group Renovation Award and J.D. Power and Associates Award for “Highest in Guest Satisfaction among midscale Hotel Chains” we are committed to excellence! You’ll find comfort and impeccable service at one of the most convenient locations in McHenry County. Contemporary furnishings and a friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. Within walking distance are many great shops and restaurants including Colonial Café, Burnt Toast Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Algonquin Commons Shopping and more!The property features 86 rooms including Executive and Specialty Suites. Also featured is an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. In the morning you’ll enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast full of hot and cold items making breakfast at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Algonquin the perfect way to start your day. Breakfast includes eggs, meat items, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, made- to-order pancakes and our savory hot cinnamon rolls. For business or pleasure, we are the preferred place to stay when in McHenry County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin Hotel Algonquin
Holiday Inn Algonquin
Algonquin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing