We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The place was very nice. They had a pool and hot tub which my older son enjoyed. We were there for a wedding, so many family members were at the same place. they even had a shuttle bus that took you to the country club for the reception. Great breakfast in the morning. No one had any complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Great to hear. Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. It's customers like you that help us reinforce what we do every day...taking care of our guests! I will share the feedback with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
47
8
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Was in Algonquin visiting family over the 4th of July. Room was clean, service friendly. Hotel is located just off the major commercial strip in the area with Target, Walmart, Trader Joe's, and plenty of other stores located a short drive away. Breakfast was decent but nothing special. Three days without any major problems worth mentioning merits a "very good" rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We strive to be the best and make everyone feel like they're at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horne, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed at several Holiday Inns and this one was good. It was clean and just off the beaten path. Plenty of places nearby to eat. Walmart just a few miles down the road. The only thing that was a tad annoying was that a huge number of baseball teams were at the hotel. Teenagers and pre-teens seemed to be stomping all over the hotel at all hours. But, that is not a normal occurance so as long as you don't have a huge number of baseball teams staying when you do, This hotel is a fine place .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I appreciate your feedback. No, it is not normal for baseball teams to 'overtake' our hotel. True, we had one unruly team in-house during your stay. A few of them were evicted for their actions; even after being warned. Come on back and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My sister and I were traveling and stayed at the Algonquin, IL Holiday Inn Express for 5 nights. When I made our reservation, I thought I had reserved a handicapped accessible room, but had not. Our first night was in a "regular" room, and we requested a change the next morning, so that my sister could easily use the shower. We dealt with Lauri and she was wonderful, in fact she moved us right next door into a room that was available, for the same price. Each person we encountered on our visit from the front desk to the cleaning staff, and those in the dining area, were all very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good news is great to hear! Lauri is one of our brightest stars and we're lucky to have her. I am so glad to learn of your 'awesome' visit. In this day and age many focus on the negatives and not report out on the positives. We will keep working to 'stay on top'. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our stay here was superb and there is absolutely nothing we would change. The breakfast was the best free hotel breakfast we have ever had. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overdoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for this. I cannot wait to share this review with the staff. We cannot wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake in the hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Ben the manager was helpful with room upgrade,but Laurie at the front desk was awesome when
I stopped by to pick up my family Laurie called up to the room and said your aunt Mary is here it pick you up I didnt tell her my name she remembered from weeks ago when i upgraded the room,she made me feel very special and I was only visiting family staying there.My family said all the staff was very friendly,maid,handyman,and breakfast staff.They loved the location close to many stores and restaurants.They will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I was so happy, yet not surprised, to hear Lauri took great care of your niece and nephew and WOW'd you. We welcome your family back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip to visit a client that has offices in this area. The service was good, the property is very clean and was renovated within the last year. I had an excellent night's sleep! The hotel is located a few blocks from a major north/south street that has many retail stores and restaurant chains within a short drive. There is an excellent local ice cream parlour/restaurant across the parking lot. There are no full-service hotels in this area so if you need a place to stay, this is as good as it gets in Algonquin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysphorichousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I appreciate your kind words. We have worked hard at our hotel; before, during and after our renovation to give our guests stellar service! We want to be the best and work on it everyday. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
269 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Address: 2595 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL 60102-9742 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin has re-launched with all new trademarks and amenities. As a recipient of InterContinental Hotels Group Renovation Award and J.D. Power and Associates Award for “Highest in Guest Satisfaction among midscale Hotel Chains” we are committed to excellence! You’ll find comfort and impeccable service at one of the most convenient locations in McHenry County. Contemporary furnishings and a friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. Within walking distance are many great shops and restaurants including Colonial Café, Burnt Toast Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Algonquin Commons Shopping and more!The property features 86 rooms including Executive and Specialty Suites. Also featured is an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. In the morning you’ll enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast full of hot and cold items making breakfast at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Algonquin the perfect way to start your day. Breakfast includes eggs, meat items, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, made- to-order pancakes and our savory hot cinnamon rolls. For business or pleasure, we are the preferred place to stay when in McHenry County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin Hotel Algonquin
Holiday Inn Algonquin
Algonquin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing