We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mesa Falls

Mesa Falls
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ashton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The owner of Rankin Motel told us about the falls, On our way to the Yellowstone Park entrance, we took the scenic byway. Stopped at both the Lower and Upper Falls view points. Two awesome falls, both are some of the biggest falls I have seen in the West. Well worth the drive (which did not add much mileage to our trip to Yellowstone).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sleepsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    40
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I have been to a lot of waterfalls all over the world but have never had an opportunity to (safely) stand on top of one and watch the water fall right below us. It is so great how the Upper Falls viewing platform juts out just over the top of the falls. We took a detour on our way to Yellowstone and were so glad we did. From Ashton, we took Hwy 47 east and then north on the scenic byway. It was a beautiful drive and only added about 15 min to our itinerary. I think they charged a couple dollars to park but it was well worth it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride to Mesa Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were visiting in Ashton and was told if we wanted to take a nice ride (motorcycles) the Falls were well worth a look. We were not disappointed! Some of mother natures amazing work and beauty that I never even knew existed til 2 weeks ago!! It was a nice ride through the trees and view to enjoy when we stopped to stretch our legs!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Drive and Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a beautiful scenic drive from Ashton to Island Park. Upper and Lower Mesa Falls is a jem to see

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sbbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great access to two powerful waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were staying in Idaho Falls and took a drive along Mesa Falls scenic byway which starts from Ashton and takes you through 28 miles of varying scenery before rejoining highway 20 about an hour north of Idaho Falls.

The two waterfalls are well worth seeing as The Snake river falls 114 and 85 feet at the Upper and lower falls. The two falls are perhaps a mile apart and have separate turn-offs. To get to the overlook of the upper falls it is necessary to descend some steps, but the paths are well maintained.

We arrived after 6pm, but I believe there is a charge for admission during the day.

Even though we had been in Yellowstone a with its magnificent falls a few days previously I still found Mesa Falls contained within a wooded gorge well worth visiting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesa Falls also viewed

Been to Mesa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing