We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school comfort.”
Review of Rankin Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rankin Motel
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights in July to visit Yellowstone on our way to the Sturgis rally. The owners are very nice people and keep the place clean. The AC worked well, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the hot water didn't run out.

We stayed in the motel unit, which is at the back side, away from the road so noise was not a problem.

The price was reasonable and we would stay here again.

It's not too far to Yellowstone and since we were on our motorcycle we didn't mind the ride.

The resident "greater" is lady, the black Lab. She'll meet you at your door.

Overall a good experience for a good price.

Room Tip: Dining in Ashton, Idaho is almost non-existent. We bought food one day at the grocery store next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1gal1guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind review of the Rankin Motel. Each of our motel rooms and each of our cabins have their own hot water heaters. That way no other guests can run you out of hot water for your shower or bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the 2 bedroom cabins and had a great time! We had two adults and two teenagers along with our lab. This place was perfect for us traveling with our dog and needing somewhere where he could run and play ball. We loved the feel of it. The cabin was so cute and had such an old fashioned feel to it. We had a table right outside our door where we could eat and have the dog right there with us. The room was kept very clean. Having a fridge and microwave was great too. A nice grocery store and gas station is right next door. It was nice to be able to just walk the property with the dog and enjoy the area. We even roasted marshmallows one evening at their fire pit. The owner was so helpful with anything we needed. It was a great place to stay near Yellowstone (about 1 hour from the West Entrance) for a lot less money. The owners really go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. We enjoyed meeting them and plan to stop in again the next time we travel that way!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. A lot of our guests really enjoy staying in our cabins. We also enjoy having people be able to bring their pets along on their trip. We try to give each 4 legged guest a dog biscuit when they arrive. We also have pet beds and feeding/watering pans available if necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed the night on our way back from Yellowstone. What a delight! The place is very old but extremely well maintained. Room was a good size and very clean. Nothing felt worn or outdated. Room had basic amenities such as coffee maker (with coffee and tea), flat panel TV with great channels, fridge and microwave. And it has wifi now. Bed was comfortable and area was very quiet. No hair dryer or shampoo provided but a minor thing to not have.
Definitely a place I would recommend.

It is an extremely small town so the food options are limited. We had dinner at Trails Inn and enjoyed it a lot. Their twice baked potato was delicious. Heard they have homemade fruit pies in the winter. Too bad they don't have it n the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. The Rankin Motel has been in existance first as an Auto Court and then as a Motel since 1924. In fact next year we will be celebrating 90 years of operation. We are constantly upgrading and modernizing our motel rooms and sleeper cabins without destroying their unique charm and character.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Was a great place to stay. Stayed in a cabin, and it was the best. Peaceful and quaint. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.....Brings a person back to old family values.Doesn't get any better the having your coffee outside smelling the fresh air on your own patio......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We try to make each cabin a little different and unique. There are pictures of the interiors of each cabin on our website. We do have outdoor tables and chairs for each of our cabins and there are 6 tables and chairs near our motel rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is a find! The cabins are utterly charming, and the proprietor and his niece were incredibly warm and helpful. My favorite part was the flowers -- you can feel the love that this family is putting into this property. Beds were comfortable and the cabin came with a little dining table and unique antiques. Right on the road, but you don't hear the noise. I can't wait to come back on my next trip to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. My wife, Jennifer, spends alot of her time at the motel taking care of the flower beds and flower containers that are all around the motel property. I get the pleasure of insuring that they are all kept well watered. Jenny also spends alot of time decorating the cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Older hotel in an old town. Clean quite and easy to get to. As close to Yellowstone as you can get for the price. The only issue we had was low water pressure for shower. Would stay again and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chief00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are on our own well system so if most the other motel rooms and cabins were using water when you were there might have been lower pressure than normal. Usually there is more than adequate water pressure to all our units but we would encourage any of our guests to let us know of any problems they are encountering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our one night stay after a 12 hour drive from Oregon (on the way to Yellowstone N.P.) It was a great value for a family of 3 ($80 for a two room cabin). The ambience of the place is priceless. We love places that feel like Grandma's cabin. The cabin was cozy, clean and felt like home. This motel is on the busy highway heading to West Yellowstone, but the traffic slows down to almost nothing by 9 or 10 pm. It was very quiet at night. The motel owner was very friendly and helpful. Look forward to our next trip to Yellowstone (and another visit to the Rankin Motel!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sleepsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Rankin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your very nice comments about the Rankin Motel. We try to provide a peaceful and comfortable ambiance for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rankin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rankin Motel

Address: 120 South Yellowstone Highway 20, Ashton, ID 83420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Ashton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ashton
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rankin Motel is a family run operation that has been in business since 1924 when it was started as an Auto Court. We have cabins and motel rooms available for rent. We are a seasonal business open from April 11th through October, located within 60 miles of the West entrance to Yellowstone Park and 70 miles from Jackson, Wyoming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rankin Motel Ashton, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing