We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal”
Review of North Shore

North Shore
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.30*
and up
Oahu Shark Dive
More Info
$114.95*
and up
The North Shore Tour
More Info
$115.49*
and up
Shark Cage Diving In Oahu
Ranked #31 of 533 things to do in Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenominal”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful beaches and very friendly locals. Much slower pace than Waikiki, which was just what we were hoping for. Go visit the HE>i in Haleiwa, you'll be glad you did.

Helpful?
Thank Josh-102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    244
    49
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We saw a lot of interesting things on the north shore & one of them was the Fumis Shrimp Truck!
I guess it was some of the best shrimp we ate in Hawaii!
There's some great surfing spot/beaches.
It's a beutiful drive!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“So Many Offerings”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The North Shore area is another beautiful gem on Oahu. We were fortunate to visit this on our arrival day, and a surfing competition was on going. We sat on the beach, watched incredible waves, and took in some incredible surfing observation.

Don't forget to venture towards Turtle Beach. Brutus apparently is a regular, and had no problem with the hundreds of pictures being snapped up by his sunning posture.

There is also Ka'ena Nature preserve to the west, still part of the North shore, and not to be missed.

There are plenty of shops in the area, food trucks, and local establishments to take in. I could of just sat there for hours watching the waves break.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“true Hawaii”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent a few days in North Shore in a rented beach front cottage north of Haleiwa..Haleiwa itself is a charming little town dotted with local boutiques , home of the Macky's shrimp truck, the Opal Thai restaurant and the renowned Matsumoto's shave- ice store. It is close to Sunset beach, a pristine stretch of sand and Waimea Beach Park , the place to go swimming with friendly waves and less tourists. In North Shore, you will come across beautiful local beaches shaded with coconuts trees with only a few kids surfing the waves, small cottages towns dotting the shorelines , locals fruits shacks and shrimps trucks, a slower pace of life and you will come to love Hawaii, the way the locals love their island.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“North Shore! :)”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Chill and full of "hippies", North Shore is the place to go if you want a small laid back town. Famous for its surfing competitions in the winter, and with wooden buildings reminisce of Monterey, CA, it's all pretty chill around here. Good food, good people, calming seaside (unless the good huge waves are in!) especially down by Pupukea where there's less people. I like to go there and just sit on a rock in the shade of the trees and meditate. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing