We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Oahu
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Dolphin encounter

Dolphin Quest, located at the Kahala Hotel and Resort on the Hawaiian island of Ohahu, offers a... read more

Reviewed today
JAK922
,
New York
Good time with Hoku

I joined this program with my two grandsons at 14:40. The weather was good. They seemed to enjoyed... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
AkiYuma
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 1,212 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Oahu
from $129.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $96.75
More Info
from $28.72
More Info
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveler rating
1,030
126
32
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,030
126
32
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolphin encounter kahala resort amazing experience swim with dolphins once in a lifetime hand signals photo package bucket list small group year olds highlight of our trip trainers animals photos commands captivity kiss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We had such a awesome time. We never will forget that time. Shu was such a great guy. He showed and explained us everything just perfect. You just can feel he loves what he is doing. I was really excited about the dolphins. They are such beautiful lovely animals. We just loved it its the best spending money. Save the dolphins.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank truemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Dolphin Quest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Truemx! Thank you for joining us at Dolphin Quest Oahu. We’re happy to hear you loved your encounter with us and were able to experience the awesomeness of these animals firsthand. We’ll be sure to share your kind words with Shu and our Team. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

A great (albeit) pricey experience.

Considering this may be a once in a lifetime experience for most, it would be nice if the Oahu location would update their service to also provide HD videos of the experience as well.
Honestly, if my phone can record video in 4K and also snap pictures at the same time, I'm sure the more expensive/professional cameras like the ones they use could do so much better.
Of course, videos take up more space, but working in to the charge of such a service to account for the increase of cloud and local storage space requirements should be possible.

Changing rooms were actually just bathrooms stalls without any hooks to hang some things while changing, making it difficult to change one's clothing.

Come fully prepared with the right attire to avoid changing, but be prepared to go back with a wet bathing suite as a consequence.

Showering to remove the salt water and any sand was simply and outdoor shower as you would find at most beach toilet areas. Be sure to bring a towel.

Lockers were not personal ones and were just cabinets with keys the staff manages for your items.
Shouldn't be an issue, though didn't feel that secure. Be mindful if you bring valuables.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mx1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Dolphin Quest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Mx1259! Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We recommend our guests to arrive wearing a swimsuit and to bring a towel, however we do offer changing areas as mentioned. We really value your feedback and will share concerns with our management team as we intend to provide the best service for our guests. Thank you again, and we hope you enjoyed your dolphin encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

My adult sons, 80 year old mother and I enjoyed the dolphin encounter. The trainers tailored the experience so we could all enjoy it. I highly recommend Dolphin Quest

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GlobeTrotting314958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Dolphin Quest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha GlobeTrotting314958! Thank you for taking time to share your family’s experience at Dolphin Quest Oahu. Our encounters give guests the opportunity to interact with dolphins in a safe and intimate environment that can be enjoyed by guests of different swimming capabilities or limitations. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Hawaii or Bermuda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Short, and expensive. But memorable for the kids. Pictues were fantastic. I think $300/hr for photography is absurd though

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Dolphin Quest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Andrew B Brush! Thank you for joining us at Dolphin Quest! We’re glad to hear your experience was memorable and the photos were fantastic! From guest participation, Dolphin Quest has contributed $5,000,000 towards vital marine mammal conservation, education and scientific study. Thank you for helping us make a difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

We had a great time at the dolphin adventure. We got to learn all about the dolphins, how they’re trained, and how they’re cared for. The time spent in the water with the dolphins was great and we had plenty of time to interact with them and pose for photos.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aignasiak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Dolphin Quest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Algnasiak33! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. That makes us so happy to hear you had a great experience and took advantage of our photographer. Our programs are fun and unique experiences, and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your Dolphin Adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews