We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful views of the peninsula and it's free.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makapuu Point

Makapuu Point
Book In Advance
$84.00*
and up
Eastside Oahu Tour Semi Private: Beautiful Beaches and History
Ranked #73 of 500 things to do in Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful, scenic spot overlooking Makapuu Peninsula.
Level Contributor
449 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the peninsula and it's free.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's worth a stop. Beautiful views of the ocean, the peninsula and overlooking everything. There are supposed to be humpback whales, but I was told we came at the wrong time of the year, so that was just lucky.


Did I mention it was free? What could be wrong with that?

Some japanese families took a taxi there to look at the views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    65
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good views, great seabirds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My main reason to go to Hawaii was to watch the birds, and I had heard this place was good for the sea birds. It was no dissapointment. I had a red-footed booby fly within 15 feet from me, and I got to watch a few doen wedge-tailed shearwaters go back to their burrows. The views of Manana island are amazing too, great for any nature lovers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NickOlathe_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic view, especially to watch the paragliders performing, they are like birds and over the lovely water and next to the cliffs amazing to see. Lighthouse just round the corner too, great to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nikiandpauldundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
822 reviews
548 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 781 helpful votes
“Fantastic View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My two favorite viewpoints on Oahu were the views from Diamond Head and the view from Makapu'u Point -- gorgeous! On a clear, sunny day, you won't find a better view. We stopped at the lookout south and uphill from the Makapu'u Beach Park. Be sure to take your camera.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucuman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“one of the best views of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

i really felt in love with this place!!, the views are amazing!; if you go in winter you can see the whales!!, there is a place where you go down to the blowholes! its a little dangerous but its awesome!!; prepare to get wet!! you definitely should go if you visit oahu!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld---654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makapuu Point also viewed

 

Been to Makapuu Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing