We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mail a Coconut!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post-A-Nut, Hoolehua Post Office

Post-A-Nut, Hoolehua Post Office
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Molokai
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mail a Coconut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Post-A-Nut is so much fun. The post office will mail a coconut for you. They provide the coconuts and the coconuts themselves are free. The post office has a bunch of markers out for you to decorate. They weigh it and you just pay for postage. The staff member at the desk was very nice and explained how it all works. He was very helpful and we had fun drawing on the coconut. It's such a cool idea!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Who would think you could have so much fun at the post office!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Fun decorating coconuts to send the kids!!! Gary the post master is humble--- especially when we told him he was an internet trip advisor celebrity and super nice!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chgochris1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
381 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Go Here!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Post a Nut is one of the best attractions on the whole island. Postmaster/coconut inspector Gary is extremely nice, friendly, and helpful. One of the nicest persons on the island....maybe the nicest! We read about this on Tripadvisor, so stopped by after we got to the island. We arrived 10 minutes past closing time, but Gary welcomed us in anyway. He explained the program, gave us some markers and a book with artistic ideas, and some coconuts to decorate. We took the coconuts back to our hotel and decorated them, then returned to the post office the next day and mailed them back to the mainland. It was fun. But the best part was meeting Gary. Molokai is nicknamed the "friendly isle." While we did not really get that impression (some people were very nice....some made it clear they would rather not have visitors on the island) we definitely enjoyed visiting with Gary. Incredibly nice gentleman.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank surfercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Post-A-What?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

So you can go to this post office and decorate and send coconuts! What a neat idea! I sent 3, including one to myself! What a great keepsake and the people that you send them to will love it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like being a little kid again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We heard about this place on Trip Advisor, so we went to check it out. We had so much fun decorating our coconuts, we ended up sending four of them. We wish you woud have known about it at the beginning of our trip because you can take the coconuts away and decorate them instead of doing so at the location. It ended up working out perfectly, because we had great company with Gary the Postmaster assisting us. He complimented our skills (even though we don't have any). We are sure our nieces and nephews will enjoy receiving these customized coconuts. We were even able to ship one to Canada. Thank you, Gary!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stairsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post-A-Nut, Hoolehua Post Office also viewed

 

Been to Post-A-Nut, Hoolehua Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing