We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Kalaupapa Overlook
from $189.00
More Info
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
105
31
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
105
31
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk phallic rock parking lot leper colony mule ride an amazing view bring binoculars paved walkway magical feeling beautiful pine forest light jacket historical significance quick visit hansen's disease easy hike public restrooms father damien
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 138 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The displays tell the story of Father (now Saint) Damien and how he brought compassion to an ostracized people through ignorance.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank ElTigre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

We wanted to visit the peninsula, but the mules and planes weren't running, and we weren't will to do the hike both ways. At least the lookout gave us a way to see it and learn more information.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Easy drive to the park, easy walk, out to the overlook. Very beautiful! You don't want to miss this view. The first day we went up there it was all cloudy, so we couldn't see anything. We returned a day or two later and it was gorgeous. It's not far to drive to as we were staying on the west end. They have a bathroom there too. Also across from the overlook is a short trail you can walk up to look at Phallic Rock. So you can see two things in one visit there.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank 58sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

The overlook gives those who can't take the tour of the peninsula (under 16 years old, or time constraints) a good overview of the story of Kalaupapa and a wonderful view of the peninsula. Just a minute or two walk from a nice parking lot, excellent signage tells the story. Aloha

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank marybethf808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016

This is a must see.. not a long hike to the cliffs…. Beautiful to look at the creation of the lava flow..

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank AlaskavsCostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews