We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Molokai
from $296.99
More Info
from $310.00
More Info
from $122.58
More Info
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
139
36
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
36
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive lane road long drive cultural tour take your time his son beautiful waterfall hawaiian culture go slow beach park hotel molokai pretty waterfall speed limit blind curves closed toe slippery rocks windy road
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 191 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

We made reservations online for the orientation and hike to the falls, but on the day of the hike, the tour guide and owner of the property met us at the Halawa park pavilion to explain that the river was too high at 9 a.m. to take the walk up the valley safely on his family's property, but we could stay for the "cultural tour" and then maybe hike up to the falls if the water levels went down. While we were glad not to be endangered, but paying $40 per person to sit for 3 hours indoors in a small lanai to listen to a very repetitive talk was not pleasant nor fair. Greg should have explained he would charge us $40 apiece even if we didn't get to experience of getting outside at all to see ancient Hawaiian archeological sites and the taro gardens, etc. It's not just the waterfalls, Greg, that we wanted to see, but also the Halawa Valley and your activities in it.$20 apiece would have been more than enough for a short lecture and a tour of your gardens and a demonstration of how you do traditional throw net fishing. And don't play favorites and do more with some visitors for the price but not everyone. Be fair!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank GitmoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

The drive there and cultural tour were wonderful. Be RESPECTFUL or be prepared to pay the $1000 (per person) fine for trespassing. First of all, you're not paying a "local" to hike there, you're paying the property owners for the tour and access to THEIR property. The term "local" implies no property ownership. The hike used to be open to the public until the property owners got tired of being sued by visitors who hurt themselves on THEIR property. That is the difference between being a "local" and a property owner. Now, by no fault of their own, they require all visitors to sign a waiver. We came across two trespassers during our tour and our guide took their picture - which gets sent to the police and airport. Good luck getting off the island without paying the $2,000 fine! These folks had no respect and make the rest of the visitors to the island look bad. With that out of the way, the history of the valley is fascinating and this is one of the few places in Hawaii willing to teach Hawaiian culture to visitors. We had a great time. It started at 9:00am and ended around 3:00pm. I recommend water shoes (the closed toe kind that look like sneakers) or Teva style sandals as you will be stepping into knee high water.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017

We scheduled our tour (week before Xmas), unfortunately, when Molokai received torrential rainfall. We discovered that the tour from Hotel Molokai canceled their tour on the day that we were going. I called Jen (I assume Jennifer) and asked if our tour is also canceled. Jen insisted that she could not make that decision because she was in Honolulu, and that only the guides at Halawa can make that decision. While there is no communication from those in Halawa, the ONLY way we can find out if the tour is canceled or not is to drive there. I pointed out that the weather forecasters issued flood warnings for Maui and Molokai, but of no avail. Since we test drove the route to Halawa, just short of reaching the dirt road, where drivers honk their horns to warn potential traffic around corners, we were clear that making that 3 hour drive (one way in bad weather) to try and save $125 was ridiculous. I then realized that Jen did not want to reimburse my reservation, and also why she suggested (in a different call) that I bring cash for payment instead. While the tour could have been memorable, Jen (the owner) made sure I would never experience Halawa thru her tour. BTW, after the storm passed, the weather forecasters commented that Maui and Molokai have had enough rain for quite a while. There were many mud slides and road closures caused by the storm. I called Visa and canceled my charge for the tour.

Date of experience: December 2017
5  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

We visited the beautiful Halawa Valley in Molokai with our group from our UnCruise and were lucky enough to meet Uncle Filipo and his son Greg. They taught us about the real traditional life of Molokai and shared their piece of paradise with us. A highlight of our trip, to be sure!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank KateJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Getting to the valley involes a long drive on a 1 lane track. The water fall is a long hike 1.5 hrs one way. Its muddy in November and you cross the water which can be tricky when's it's been raining. It is a great waterfall and swimming hole. But not worth paying a local $60 to take you there. There is not a beach area here to hang at other than a rocky spit off the dirt parking lot.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 69ashe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews