We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are several hikes to falls but only one includes culture and history”
Review of Halawa Valley

Halawa Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$310.00*
and up
West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Molokai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the eastern side of Molokai.
Cotati, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“there are several hikes to falls but only one includes culture and history”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is so much more than a hike to a waterfall. Anakala Pilipo Solatorio was 7 years old when the 1946 tsunami hit Halawa. You share a Honi ceremony (Hawaiian breath exchanging) before he tells you the history and culture of the valley from his own personal experiences. His son leads the hike to the falls. No offense but all the other guides do not include the cultural part and are just hikes to a waterfall.

Such a wonderful time learning from Father and Son about the Halawa Valley, its history, its culture, its way of life today, how to identify trees without looking at leaves, and learning to love this valley on Molokai that many may never see. Am glad there is a documentary being made to let others know of this unique place and where it fits into the greater global picture of ohana.

it will be worth your time to take this hike

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank williamtheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    29
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trip Highlight”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

After the interesting and winding road leading into to the valley (plus picking up a tourist out there hitch hiking in the middle of nowhere) we were ended up at the beach at the end of the road. There we got to meet Anakala Pilipo Solatorio the last living native Hawaiian that was born, raised and still lives in the valley. He was there with his granddaughter while his wife was baking. We had a wonderful time chatting about his life and the history of the valley. You need permission from a local or to be on a tour to go to the 240 ft waterfall. (Sad story about a lawsuit to thank for that) Pilipo used to do the tours himself but his son Gregory does them now. I would try to go with them if you want the real deal. You won't be sorry. His son's website is www.halawavalleymolokai.com and his email is slydahsurf@gmail.com

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TVSlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the two best views on Moloka'i”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The drive to this cove at the bottom of the cliffs is truly an amazing ride. Narrow road, lots of curves and switchbacks, but the views are absolutely spectacular. A must see. The other must see view is Pāla'au State Park (Kalaupapa Lookout). Since you are there you might as well take another short walk to phallic rock...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Hill Saskatchewan Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Molokai Flowers”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We did the hike to the falls at Halawa Valley through Molokai Flowers. Kalani met us at the pavilion which is just before the end of the road where the bathrooms are. He and his wife toured us through their flower garden and their son led us to the falls. It was a not to missed tour. I am not an athletic person and I was able to do the trek easily. Even negotiating the rocks. At the end Kalani will treat you to delicious smoothies made with his fresh fruit. Going through Kalani with Molokai Flowers is the best way to go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mystical waterfall hike”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arranged a guided hike to the falls at Halawa Valley through our B&B hosts Tom and Karyl in Maunaloa. Eddy Tanaka who is a musician also has a Facebook page and can be reached at 558-8396. He lives between mile 20 and 21 on the east Molokai road at the home with the stone bottle wall. Eddy hopped in the car with us and we drove another few miles along a coastal single lane paved road to reach our destination. The only way to take the hike through private land to the falls is on a prearranged trip. His fee is $50 per person and worth the price. Eddy is a knowledgable and interesting guide who loves to share his cultural history stories about the land, people, birds and plants. The history of original settlement cannot be confirmed in history books and Eddy tells it as he has been told and understands it. We learned about the destruction of the area by a tsunami which wiped out the settlement and the taro crops although no one was killed. Today there are just a few people who have restored some remnant taro ponds and who conduct educational public tours. Eddy talks as we walked which is the kind of tour we wanted though we did meet Philippo who was very warm and hospitable. There were just five of us along with Eddy although there were about another 20 people with different guides and tours. The hike up the valley took us through a wild cherry forest (lots of ripe juicy fruit to sample) and then through a mature rainforest. By in large the trail was good but there were some muddy/wet areas at the start and some areas where you had to climb over fallen logs or under brushy dead falls so sturdy walking boots are recommended. The trail could have been easily cleared of the tree obstructions which would have made it more enjoyable. There was also one river crossing which was a bit of a challenge over the boulders and through the water in bare feet but Eddy helped us through it. Suggest you bring along aqua socks to make this easier. The falls were magnificent and the swim in the River pool refreshing. Come with your swim trunks on as there are no change or washroom facilities at the falls. Walking sticks were an asset along the trail and bring a lunch to enjoy at the falls as well as a bottle of drinking water for the trail. Arrange this hike for sunny weather as the east Molokai road can be subject to closure in heavy rains. Rains also cause the river to swell so for this reason the tour is subject to cancellation in wet weather. We met our guide at 10:30 and completed the hike by about 3:30 so plan on a full day for this activity. Payment is by cash only. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halawa Valley also viewed

 

Been to Halawa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing