We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dangerous”
Review of Nakalele Blowhole

Nakalele Blowhole
Ranked #34 of 371 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paia, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Dangerous”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Today, yet another visitor to Maui fell to his death on this trail. Please think twice before going here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    226
    57
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Be careful!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a very difficult path to traverse, very rocky. Wear proper shoes and pants to trek this. Once you get there it is worth the trip. The windier the day the more waves, the bigger the blow! There is no clear path down, just what works for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“from nothing to stunning, a must do”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've visited the blowhole a few times, and what you see depends on a variety of factors with winds and waves and tides and I don't know what all else. You might see hardly anything, or maybe a firehose shooting 40-50 feet into the air. In our most recent trip, it was shooting around 20 feet up. Plenty good for me!

It's a bit of a tricky climb into and out of the area. You should not attempt it without wearing some kind of solid shoe with good traction. I would guess the vertical distance is a few hundred feet, but it seems to be more as I get older. You CAN make it though, just take your time and step carefully.

if you do go down to the flat where the blowhole is, look for small ponds that are inhabited by little critters. I would think it's a precarious place to be, but they manage. Just don't get too close to the blowhole. you'd be in for a wet surprise, and also, on the serious side, it's possible for the blowhole to shoot out rocks and other things that could give you a bad day.

On the whole, it's a specatular sight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSnowedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trek down to the blowhole”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a great sight to be seen when the tide is at it's fullest. In 2002, the hike down was not too bad but since then the path has changed somewhat. You must make sure to wear walking shoes as it is quite a scramble over some of the rocks. We got a couple of great pictures both times. Before you go check with your hotel people as to when high tide will occur. Sometimes it is in the morning and other times in the evening. If you do this in the warmer months, make sure to take water with you as the climb back up really gets you parched.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Maybe go at high tide”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I mean, its hard not to like things in Maui, everything is beautiful. This blowhole wasn't the most spectacular thing I've ever seen, but I am really glad we stopped.

The water wasn't really "blowing" when we were there at low tide, but a few big waves that made it really gush. Be smart about getting too close too. There are a lot of hand written warning signs, so I'd pay attention to where you stand. Stay someplace dry and far enough away.

The trail down to the blowhole is nicknamed the acid rock trail I believe, and I can see why! All the rocks are lava rocks with crazy holes all over them. Really cool to see. Also, bonus, there is a hole in a rock shaped like a heart on the right side on the way down that we took a ton of cheesy pictures at (having just gotten engaged). it was cute.

We walked down in flip flops no problem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakalele Blowhole also viewed

 

Been to Nakalele Blowhole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing