We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful course, great conditions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wailea Golf Club - Emerald Course

Ranked #234 of 463 Outdoor Activities in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lush and tropical layout measures 6,825 yards from the back, featuring four to six tee boxes on every hole, allowing golfers to tailor the course to their level of skill.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful course, great conditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Well worth the trip, our most favourite of the 5 rounds we played this week. Staff was friendly and the starter was very informative. The course was in excellent summer shape. The greens were tricky, (used to playing bent grass) the sand traps were plentiful and had lots of sand (didn't have to try too many of them though) and the views were spectacular. Would play it again but have to head home! Even though they say the course is "Lady Friendly" my wife said it was a good challenge. Our foursome played it in under 4 hours and there were a few two-somes behind that made it feel we were slow but weren't being rushed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RussL177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my boyfriend to play golf here and we had a great experience! We had a a lot of fun and we didn't feel rushed at all! Cheaper if you go in the afternoon. Would definitely do again!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice But Not Sure It's Worth The Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The good - beautiful views, nice friendly starter, easy course with wide fairways and not much water and no forced carrys

The bad - layout is not as pristine and natural as Makena, you can see others playing other holes around you, sand in some bunkers was shallow and hard resulting in blading over the green, overpriced just like every other resort course on Maui

Helpful?
Thank KRagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Emerald, Gold and Blue Courses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Champions Villas in Wailea in Feb. 2012. We played the Emerald Course twice, the Gold once and the Blue about 15 times (we were there for a month). We liked the Emerald, weren't crazy about the Gold - it was too hard for me. The Blue Course was great, even though I didn't play all that well, it was much more relaxing for us. All course are in great shape with beautiful views of the ocean. I would recommend the Blue for anyone who isn't the greatest golfer in the world. At all three golf courses, you can buy a 3 round pass which saves a little money. You can keep purchasing this pass as long as you want.
We also played 4 times at Elleair, which isn't in the greatest shape, but okay. It was also the easiest to play and also easiest to get a tee time. Rates vary as to time and day. We played for as little (remembe this is Hawaii) $90.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bermuda Green$”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just played this course with my good friend and it's in excellent shape. Make sure you look at the cup to determine which way the greens will break. Beautiful round!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wailea Golf Club - Emerald Course also viewed

 

Been to Wailea Golf Club - Emerald Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing