We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped Cash Grab”
Review of Molokini Crater

Molokini Crater
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$117.52*
and up
Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure
More Info
$144.66*
and up
Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui
Ranked #68 of 371 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Overhyped Cash Grab”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you want to see colorful yellow coral, this is the place. The water is clear and visibility quite deep. However the amount of sea life you see is terrible considering you're paying $80+ for a snorkel tour. I saw more fish, and turtles snorkeling off the shores. Save your money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    120
    79
    52
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing- avoid!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We paid around $80 for the molokini snorkeling and turtle town tour with the pacific whale foundation. Very disappointed with the quality of coral and the fish. anywhere else on Maui or Big Island you see at least 5 times as many fish and types of coral, at Molokini you're lucky if you catch a few dozen fish floating around. Honestly, you can see much better for free! Turtle town was a joke, saw one turtle! If you're going to Big island, go to Two steps or Kiholo bay or Punalu'u beach- hundreds of turtles here abd the coral and fish at two steps put Molokini to shame. Makena beach on Maui had some good snorkeling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravelleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sail on the Paragon to snorkelling at the crater”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We sailed to Molokini on the Paragon, a true sailing catamaran. As the folks in "Maui Revealed" promised, these guys love to sail, and put the sails up both directions. The boat takes about 36 total, but there were only about 18 on our trip. We saw several whales on our sail, as well as flying fish.


The crater was crowded with other people, that's true. And, I wish there had been more fish and creatures to see there. That said, I'm glad we checked it out, anyway. It was kind of windy, so there were waves to contend with. The underwater visibility is amazing at the crater!

If you want to go to Molokini and you love sailing, go with Paragon. we had a blast on the way back! Friendly, helpful crew, with no sales pitch. We would go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful experience.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Tried to visit 6 years ago but was caught in an awful storm that came on suddenly. This time weather was beautiful and sea was as flat as a calm lake. Boat captain spent time whale watching on way to crater and back to turtles. Snorkeling in crater was fabulous. Water was clear and fish were plentiful and quite colorful. Crew was very pleasant and food and beverages served onboard were fresh and plentiful. Booked thru Princess cruise line so probably overpaid but had excellent service and received more than expected. Had a truly wonderful day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good Day”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We where fortunate to have good weather the day we did this visibility was good we where told 2days previously had been terrible. We booked through Snorkell Bobs it's not flash by any means but what they advertise they delivered on .The only thing I would say is that you have to stay between the 10oclock and 2oclock position of the boat and the crater for safety reasons we where in the water for around45minutes to an hour and with what their is to be seen that's more than enough time(I do think it comes down to the experience of having swum in a crater).On board head count done we made our way to Turtle Town whilst having some lunch.this can be hit and miss here well we had 10 turtle sightings the only thing is that it was a bit of a swim from where the boat moored to the location of the turtles,but then again if your a bit concerned get a flotation device of the crew

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokini Crater also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Molokini Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing