We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but dont bring kids under 12.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makena Beach

Makena Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
South Maui Kayak and Snorkel Tour with Turtles
Ranked #31 of 364 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun but dont bring kids under 12.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went here because we heard it was a nice beach. It is but more geared for an older crowd. The surf was VERY strong and knocked me over a couple times. Too strong for my 6 yr old. I was afraid I might lose her in the surf. There are life guards unlike other maui beaches...but because they really need them. Lots of funs for the body surfers, older teens, and good swimmers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank teedsmrbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    156
    27
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Finally boogie boarding waves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

2 families, 5 teenage boys and the waves we were looking for. Git there by 10 so we still were able to get parking spot but now leaving at 1 and parking lot full. Fish taco/shaved ice truck there so make sure u have cash. Also, lifeguards working so that was comforting to us parents.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce31965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beaches for All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Makena State park contains several beaches, but all the signs to reach them just say Makena state park. If you drive south from the Wailea hotels and pass the golf course on the left, you will reach the first sign on the right to Oneuli beach (sign says Makena State park-black sand). You turn on a dirt road with a lot of pot holes but you end up at a parking area and the beach has black and red sand from the erosion of a cinder cone. No one was there when we visited and it is beautiful. There are large rocks at the shore line in many places but it was not too wavy when we visited in the morning hours. The next turn off is for little beach, and the last two turn offs are for big beach. The parking lots for little and big beach are closer to the main road. Did not make it to little beach,(known for nudity, and a drum ceremony of Sunday evenings) but big beach was big with velvety soft sand, a lifeguard and very little shade. The waves were intense at times so you have to know what you are doing. There were food trucks and porta potties by the parking lot. You have to walk through trees, on a wide path, to reach big beach. It's defiantly worth a visit, but the wave conditions may make it difficult to swim at times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
929 reviews
461 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Awesome waves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Easily one of our fav. beaches. It is NOT a little kid beach or a place to learn how to boogie board. The waves are dangerous, but it is a great spot to watch athletic people do flips on their boards. The under tow can be very strong. There is a lifeguard who will watch and warn careless people. Suntanning, people watching, and playing in the sand is great. Out houses are located at the start of the path. Notice the number of broken boards in the garbage can...let that be your sign!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach; big waves so not for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Big Beach is really a beautiful, long beach; however, we visited in the afternoon (from about 2 - 4:30pm) and the current was much too strong for my 6-year old to play in. My mistake, we did let him play in the water a little (just barely in where the water comes in); however, the wave tumbled him over and thankfully, we were right there to catch him. So while I think this is a great beach for walking and just to enjoy the beautiful view, it's not good for playing or snorkeling in the afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mich_jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Beach also viewed

 

Been to Makena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing