We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahana Nai'a and excellent crew”
Review of The Mahana Naia Charters - CLOSED

The Mahana Naia Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun filled Snorkeling adventure to Molokini Crater and Turtle reef.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Mahana Nai'a and excellent crew”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Out of the many brochures available to choose a snorkel adventure/boating excursion in Maui we chose one recommended by an acquaintance at the hotel. The Mahana Nai'a is a family owned and operated boat with an excellent crew. We had the pleasure of Fish (the captain), Gary and Dave. They not only were professional, they made the trip fun and comfortable. Light breakfast, lunch (pasta salad, chips and make your own sandwich) and all the drinks were included along with snorkel gear and noodles. You could rent a wet suit for $10 if you chose but there really wasn't a need as the water was great! The boat accomodated 25 people for our excursion which was quite nice compared to some of the other boats that seemed more like cattle boats with 50+ people on board. I highly recommend the MAHANA NAI'A!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TBrosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    9
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clear water, nice crew”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed going to molokini but I just wish we could be there longer in the crystal clear water too see up to 180 ft down. It is kinda pricey but u can get a good deal by going to timeshare presentation. The crew is very nice funny and accommodative. Saw many sea turtles and even saw a small shark on this trip . It was definitely a highlight of my trip and is a must do of u like snorkeling.

Helpful?
1 Thank kswag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved our trip to Molokini Crater on the Mahana Nai'a! The crew was entertaining and extremely accommodating, the boat is smaller (just say "No" to "cattlemarans"!) with an interesting history, and the lunch spread was great. Best of all- free beer and mai tais! And of course, the snorkeling was awesome! My husband and son even paid $10 to troll fishing lines behind the boat. No luck that day, but hey, he paid $200 to go out on a six-pack boat and didn't catch anything either! The underwater photographer will take pictures for you- its a bit expensive ($50), but he includes pictures of the sea life as well as any pictures you want him to take with your family. You can jump off the side of the boat all you want-makes for good pictures! Its an early ride- check in at 6:30 am (but if you're in Lahaina, its only a 30 min. drive to Maalaea Harbor). We were back at noon. Also, the Aquarium at the harbor is cool for kids-find out the names of all the fish you saw!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArmadilloSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I, my daughter and her husband and four of our grandchildren (12-15 years old) went on the sail and snorkel to Molokini and Turtle Town yesterday. (Actually, they call it turtle ghetto as a joke. We saw lots of turtles.) All of us had a great time -- the snorkeling was fun, seeing the giant turtles was amazing and the food and drink were good. Best of all, the crew was really, really nice.......knowledgeable and fun. And it was a good value as well. We would highly recommend them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjbromberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Clear Water, Great Crew, Lots of FUN!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Crew was great, very safe, knowledgeable, and fun.

The boat was not crowded!!!!

this will be a hard find in this area, i would recommend this boat!

The food was great!

We were well fed and the bottomless Mai-Tais were a flowing

Also, turtle town is for suckers, stick with turtle Ghetto ;)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sabaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mahana Naia Charters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing