We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$350
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$491
$479
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
$221
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$388
$359
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$582
$471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$426
$329
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$1,815
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$266
$227
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveler rating
595
583
234
73
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
583
234
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewpool areathe kitchenpizzagrocery storeliving roomour honeymoonlounge chairstime sharegreat resortflat screennice beachrecommend this resortcoffee makerother resortsrental cartimeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort in May 2013. We booked an ”Ocean View” room through Priceline. I was told that our room was on the second floor. The room was on an interior corner. 50% of the view of the ocean was blocked by the section of the building that jutted out towards the ocean. The building totally blocked the main part of the sunset. Both the window in the bedroom and living areas had the top of palm trees in front of them. You could see some of the ocean between the branches. When I challenged the clerk about this, I was told that “as long as you can see some water, it is an ocean view room.” I was paying extra for this room!
When I booked the room, priceline said that I had free parking but had to pay any resort fees. The desk clerk said that parking was included in the resort fee ($25 a day – stayed 6 days: total: $150). Hence, I was actually paying for parking.
With the two problems, I asked to see a manager. After a lengthy discussion, I was given a room on the 8th floor. This suite had a better view ( but still 50% blocked by the building). There was no movement on reducing the resort fee. The manager claimed that priceline was at fault for advertising free parking putting - even though it was clearly stated on my confirmation page. When I got home, Priceline was called. They indicated that they would not refund a portion of the resort fee to me. I contacted the Better Business Bureau and filed a complaint with them. Thanks to the Bureau, priceline finally reimbursed me the resort fee.
Recommendation: If you stay here, ask for a room on the south side, fourth floor or higher if you want to see sunsets. Do not believe that parking is free. If you are looking to buy into the timeshare, be careful about specifying where your room is located. In addition, do not be fooled by white tablecloths at you free breakfast. You do not see them at the restaurants if you are paying for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
On a positive note, the food was good. The resort was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the problems overshadowed the fun.

Room Tip: Make sure that you specify the room location.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We are deeply sorry to read about your disappointment following your recent stay at Kaanapali Beach Club. We would like to advise, however, that we do rely on our 3rd party partners to provide our guests with comprehensive advice and we apologise if you felt that some of the information presented to you was misleading. We are, however, glad that we were able to offer you an alternative apartment, by which the quality of your stay was improved. Nevertheless, we are of course very sorry for the disappointment and dissatisfaction you may have experienced and we hope that this will not deter you from considering making the most of our comfortable and well kept resort and giving us another chance in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club 4 times so far, and every stay is ALWAYS a pleasure. The staff always have gone out of their way to make sure our stay is great. Not to mention that just about the entire staff knows me from each of my stays. My buddy and staff member King and the front desk group have helped us get wonderful rooms facing the ocean and west Maui mountains. Every suite at the KBC is large and spacious with a spectacular view wherever your room is located. Pool is nice and large, and the slide was just renovated. The talking parrots in the lobby (Alex, Casey, Lil Guy, etc) always bring similes to travelers faces during the stay. There is also a timeshare district it you are interested. Do note that the hotel is currently getting renovated top to bottom also. An activity center is also located downstairs with Susan, Bryson and a few other awesome people! Bowling and mini golf is also included. The "Pepto Bismol Colored Palace" is another way to experience the real luxury of ALOHA on Kaanapali beach. And if anyone from the KBC staff, this is Kyle and this is MY review.
Mahalo Kaanapali Beach Club for the memories so far!

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead and ask if you can get a renovated room noted on your reservation. Its just another way to truly experience "ALOHA"!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank delta757man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We’re really pleased that you enjoy staying at the Ka’anapali Beach Club – thank you for this lovely review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one week in a one bedroom. The bed was great but the pull out was only OK. The room is beautiful, as is the bathroom, but they could've used that space a lot more efficiently. The staff was fantastic and accommodating, as well as extremely friendly. The women at the front desk were beyond helpful. The pool area is absolutely gorgeous and only a few steps to the beach! Food and drink prices are high, as to be expected in Maui, but the happy hour specials were fantastic. It's nice to have options for the kitchen to cook (although no stove) but also easy to eat/drink on site if necessary. A really beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Ka'anapali Beach Club is a place we have been going to for the past 15 years. Every time we go to Maui (4 times), this is where we want to stay. Sadly, there were no rooms available this time around, mostly due to how many have been taken out of service due to much needed renovations for many of the rooms. I don't know where that stands, but other reviews have floors 8-12 already renovated. They did have renovations going on at the Ohana Bar and Grill outside by the pool from 10pm-6am every evening. Everything was in order by the next morning. Due to lack of availability, we stayed next door at the sister Diamond Resort, the "Ka'anapali Shores". With that, we are able to use anything on the Ka'anapali Beach Club's property, including the pool. While over there, we had to put up with the unsightly view of many, many, "time share" workers putting the "once over" on guest of the Beach Club to buy timeshare. Yes, they are usually contained to a section of the property, however that is around the breakfast area and pool area. Not what you want to see while on vacation. Having said that, it's a fantastic property in the middle of paradise and the most amazing view. That's why we always go back there!

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room for sure. Try to avoid the "time share people" the best you can!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We are sorry to read that due to refurbishment works we were not able to offer you an accommodation at Ka'anapali Beach Club however we are glad that your stay at Ka'anapali Shores was just as pleasant. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, solicitation of a timeshare presentation may take place and we apologize if our sales team's presence has inconvenienced you in any way. We would like to assure you, that in most cases participation in the meeting is not obligatory and all agents appreciate that not every guest may be interested in joining The Club. We hope that this has not marred your stay and we are looking towards your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a week at this resort. I liked the rooms which we thought were a great size (we had a 1 bedroom). Bed was comfy and the pull out sofa wasn't bad either. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub, shower and private water closet. The kitchen was good to have as we like cooking a bit to save on meals. There was no stove top but an electric pan which was nice for bacon and eggs in the AM and grilled pork chops over onions for dinner one night. there is a blender, toaster, coffeemaker and microwave also.

The service was great. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We didn't do any presentations as we are members of Diamond resorts and didn't get any negative vibes for this.

Pool was nice, big and always clean. On the bad side the hot tub was broken (which was disappointing) and didn't get fixed during our visit. The resort is on the beach which is nice and there are tidal pools along the beach to explore also.

We played mini-golf which was also disappointing based on the many rips and issues with the course. Beware of the loose bricks. That aside we had fun playing on it and my 6yold enjoyed it.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teedsmrbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews