We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were incredibly dissappointed by our experience here. First, almost every encounter with staff (that's speaks English) is a high pressure sale. We were required to attend not only the "buy a time share here" meeting but an additional "look at all the attractions we sponsor to sell you" meeting. Our first 2 mornings at the resort. We were told both would include breakfast but coffee was all we got at either one.

After an hour and a half of telling the time share sales person we weren't interested because, my inlaws are owners and we will inherit their property, we were sent to the "closer". She proceeded to insult us by saying "Do you still drive your parents' car?". My husband reported this to the manage who offered us complimentary breakfasts for the rest of our stay. That would have been nice however, the hostess at the breakfast buffett couldn't understand our efforts to explain this when we tried to redeem it. And we had to track down that same manager at check out to actually get the "free" breakfasts off of our bill.

The beach is rocky and steep with constant strong winds. Making it pretty unpleasant to swim there. The pool is beautiful and large. There is 1 very small hot tub that was always filled with children.

Our room and my parent's room were supposed to be next to each other. Instead we were on opposite ends of the facility. A couple minutes walk from one end to the other through the open air maze. Our room faced the supermarket behind the resort. Not much of a view for the price.

There is 1 ice machine on every other floor. There is 1 washer and 2 dryers on each floor. However this place boasts how many rooms? The ice machines on the floors near ours were usually out of ice and we had to go to every floor to find a washer or dryer that was not already in use.

The food was marginal and expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Chappies_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, General Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It is our goal to ensure that all our guests have an excellent holiday experience here at Ka'anapali Beach Club and we are very disappointed to read that we have not been successful on this occasion.
We are sorry if the contact made by our concierge department has caused you any inconvenience and we would like to assure you this will be addressed with the sales team.
We would also like to apologise that you have not found the facilities available on site efficient/numerous enough; we will mention this during our next management meeting. We would be grateful if you visited us again and gave us an opportunity to leave you with a better impression.
We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Ka'anapali Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at KBC numerous times over the past 10 years. This resort is now owned by Diamond Resort Int. Avoid becoming a Time Share owner. It is not cost effective.

The rooms are spacious but most have very "used" furniture. There is an on going plan to upgrade and replace the old furniture over a number of years. It is taking forever to see any major changes.

The support staff is the best and will usually go above and beyond to meet your every need. The valet crew, housekeeping and maint staff are alway top notch. We enjoy seeing the same support staff year after year.

Our most recent stay at KBC was 29 Dec 12 - 13 Jan13. I was unable to secure a room using the Diamond points system. No availability!!! I contacted the great group at Maui Hawaii Vacations. They were able to obtain the type of room and the exact dates I needed at KBC. In addition they also got us a room for my Son and Grandson also at KBC. When I saw the cost for a mini van from the nation wide car rental agencies I turned to MHV for assistance. The cost for the mini van for he entire stay was exactly half of what I was quoted from the Big Boys!!!!

If you want great helpful service to obtain your next reservation on Maui I recommend you contact Naomi at Maui Hawaii Vacations. Check their website to begin the process. You will not be disapponted.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review and all the tips you shared with your fellow travellers. We appreciate all kinds of feedback as it allows us to monitor guest satisfaction and target any issues needing addressing. We are under an impression that, apart from few issues, you had a pleasant stay and we are glad that you are considering returning with another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were in Maui for a wedding so we were only at this hotel for four nights. From the minute we checked in through the time we left, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm when we went to check in so they gave us a different room (same category, different location). They didn't tell us it would be an accessible room, but we were ok with it when we noticed it after entering. We had an extra large bathroom and shower, but a lack of counter space since it was an accessible room.

We loved our private Lanai and a peek-a-boo view of the pool. Should have splurged for an ocean view, but we weren't going to be in the hotel much to enjoy it. Will do that next time! Lunch poolside was great and not too expensive. One night we ordered pizza in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised how good it was, considering it was so affordable by Maui standards.

Convenient parking, good location and the pool is beautiful and relaxing! We didn't use the beach much, as there wasn't time, but it looked pretty small. We never had any trouble finding two pool side loungers, which really made our trip stress free. Nothing worse than being at a beautiful resort and not finding chairs to enjoy the pool. We always found two chairs quickly and in prime spots too!

All in all, a great stay! We will recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: I'd splurge for ocean view. Especially if you are here during whale season. We had a second floo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the KBC for 17 days in February 2013. Our stay was great and overall experience vey enjoyable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The property is well maintained and absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Clean rooms wonderful beach view swimming pool great.
We asked for a ocean view and it was a joy to not only see but hear the waves each nightand day. Will come back time and time again.
This was th best accommodation out of the three condo's we stayed in.
A short walk down the beach is a place called Dukes. Great food, staff,
and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with morning meals.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We love to vacation here! The staff are accommodating and the rooms are inviting. The lanai stretches the entire length of the condo so the ocean view rooms in January enable you to watch the whales from morning to sunset and also a family of turtles on the reef below our room. We stayed for about 2 1/2 weeks and it was outstanding. The renovations to the rooms are another added plus to an already great resort. You can snorkel within a short walk from your room ..... this is truly a jewel for a single person or for a family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhmack04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked online through VRBO. The owner told us the unit was ocean view. We had difficulty obtaining reservation confirmation from him - and we booked 3 months in advance!

We learned upon check in that our condo was not an ocean view unit as requested and as paid for (we stayed in unit 213). We had a view of a dog park and a shopping mall, with mountains in the background. No ocean to be seen. We live in the mountains. We went to Maui to see the ocean!

We would have left and went elsewhere, but due to whale season, there were no other condos available in the Kaanapali area. We were not pleased with the situation at all, and Jim
G., the condo owner whom I texted immediately, did nothing to accommodate us or provide a partial refund.

The condo was nice; huge, nicely decorated bathroom, but the lanai tiny, and beware that there is no cooking stove or oven. The pool area was nice (quiet - very few kids) and you could sit by the pool and see the whales in the ocean. The beach was mediocre, happy hour the best in the area. The beers at $2.65 each, and MaiTais at $4.65 each helped ease the pain of staying in our shopping center view condo.

The Kaanapali Beach trail begins just south of this property, and extends all the way to Canoe Beach. Nice for running (go early as it gets quite crowded), Duke's is within walking distance, Okazuya's deli and Times market within walking distance, and Happy Nails takes walk-ins! This is really a great location, and we would have given it a better rating if not for the shopping center view condo. (We actually grew to like watching people bring their dogs to the dog park each day as we missed our own).

One last thing: maybe it's because there were very few kids at this resort - mostly a greying crowd with a few young couples - but the condo was very quiet!

Room Tip: Don't book through VRBO!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maui hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#19 Spa Hotel in Maui
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range: $241 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing