We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but would try another place next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not bad, but would try another place next time.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Not that this place isn't good. It's slightly on the upper portion of the list. We were in a renovated room - but not a deluxe room. Built in the 60's, I can only imagine the grandeur when it opened. Now, it's a different story and appearantly on the way back. Front desk was friendly and remembered us when we checked out. It's self-sufficient style - there's no hassle, but no anticipation of needs either. The pool is good and the beach right there. Difficult snorkling with the rocks, but once you're out in it, pretty good. The timeshare presentation (yes, we tried it) was one of the worst I've seen although the "agent" assigned to us was pleasant. There's exceptions to every rule, but if you don't want the pressure, don't do the time share presentation. Seriously, the guy talked about his childhood, one parent's death and the other surviving...what does that have to do with a time share? STOP already and get to the important stuff like how solvent this company is, profit margins, what a point means and how can it help me stay in HI for more than 7 days. You're selling a property and I'm not buying based on a pitty party. But the hotel is a great jumping off point to see other sights.

Room Tip: Not really a bad view except those rooms facing east. Most of the rooms face north, west or south. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    537
    218
    65
    44
See reviews for
474
610
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were well received at reception and ushered to a rather large 1 bdrm suite with an ocean view (albeit a little distant from the shoreline in our case). The rooms are quite roomy and open (I estimated almost 1000 sg ft) with balcony doors from the living and bedroom. Our room was older although it was rumoured that renovations were taking place throughout the resort. The building has an amazing amount of open spaces both inside and out with abundant koi ponds, plants and waterfalls. Beautiful beach area compared to many neighboring resorts. Plenty of lounge chairs...we never seemed to have to fight for a pair. The BBQ grills were always an evening social event. Wonderful pool / bar area with hot tub, slide, everything for everyone. Laundry is on every 2nd floor as well as ice machines. The staff from the groundskeepers to management were always very pleasant and curteous. Recommended

Room Tip: Whales and sea turtles are better viewed from higher rooms closer to the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club a total of 3 times now. Each time we really enjoyed ourselves. The suites are big & beautiful & the views are awesome but the pink exterior is quite ugly! The kitchens are great with a full sized fridge, though they forgot the stove. The game room is well stocked with a bowling alley, video games, air hockey, & just about every board game available. The beach is small & the sand is laced with lava rocks that will slice your feet open so wear water socks at all times! The location always seems to be windy, so be prepared. Also, skip the timeshare presentation unless you are a glutton for punishment.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Steev_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We’re really pleased that you enjoy staying at the Ka’anapali Beach Club – thank you for your review!

While we offer presentations for those guests who are interested in vacation ownership, please be assured that it’s not mandatory to attend unless you’re staying on a marketing break.

We hope you’ll choose to return to the Ka’anapali Beach Club for another vacation, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Checked in and were treated horrible at the front desk. My wife and I waited for over an 3 hours at 2 pm, until our room was ready. The room has no stove,no ice machine, no washer/dryer and the carpet stinks and worn. We also found small bugs on the counters.

We were talked into the timeshare and were treated with zero respect. and the manager got all huffy when we told them we were not interested in buying into their dirty, old and out dated resort.

Not kid friendly..the mini golf was a joke, and the bathrooms are disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your recent stay here at Ka’Anapali Beach Club. Check in time is normally 4pm. This is advertised on all of our websites, and provided to all of our 3rd party rental partners. This provides our Housekeeping staff enough time to ensure all of our guests’ rooms are ready prior to their arrival. The lack of customer service provided to you by our front desk staff and sales manager is not acceptable and will be addressed and handled appropriately. All of our unit’s amenities are provided on our website. Ice machines are located on every floor. Washer and dryers are available for use on every even floor. The only unit types here at Ka’Anapali Beach Club that provides stovetops are our 2 bedroom Presidential Suites. We undergo a strict pest control program that meets all local regulations. However, there are times when we get rid of all pests that enter our premises. Our housekeeping staff would have been more than happy to look into the pest and bathroom issues further when notified at the time the issue occurred. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Firstly we got the weeks accommodation through a time share exchange and we weren't expecting the best room in the complex. This is obviously a once fabulous place that has been let go. As I am writing this the dishwasher is on and we couldn't hear the TV. The rooms are large,beds comfortable and the bathrooms OK. We faced the mountains and highway and it is pretty noisey. The carpets and general furnishings are very worn and outdated. The kitchen is minimal - not what you would expect in a condo. The general upkeep on the resort as a whole is spotty. We have been to maui many times and of course enjoyed ourselves but we would not stay here again unless renos were completed.

Room Tip: Avoid the timeshare sales pitch. The presentation is not in good taste and I actually found it offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julieincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgs1
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have owned a timeshare unit for over 10 years. When it was an Embassy Suite it was very well run and great for families. Breakfast was included for your entire traveling party for a nominal price and a nightly happy hour was offered, like all Embassy Suites. A few years back Diamond Resorts acquired the property and all of that stopped. Subsequently the maintenance fees doubled and the services were curtailed. My wife's biggest beef is that the maid only comes once ( Wed) during our one week stay. The rest of the time the cleaning is on you. Kind of does not square with the dramatically higher fees. The property itself has been well maintained and modernized. Our biggest complaint is the "free wireless" throughout the hotel is really spotty and capped at 1mps. That would not be bad if a user could reliably access that speed. We routinely could only get 500kps and it was not fast enough to even talk to our office servers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank bgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for a family to enjoy the beautiful ocean, beach and pool with water slide.
It might be harder with smaller kids since there's no shallow ends anywhere in the pool, it's at least 3 and half ft high.
Our one bedroom suite was very specious and well equipped for cooking which saved us lots of money and trips to restaurants for meals with kids.
Everyone working in the resort was very pleasant and helpful we definitely wish to go back next time when we're in Maui.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Prettyjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It is important to us to ensure that our guests can relax and enjoy the conveniences of home like conditions during their break. We are pleased that you have found our resort comfortable and our team welcoming. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maui hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,080 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Property: Ka'anapali Beach Club
Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#19 Spa Hotel in Maui
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing