We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Share”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The property was very good .In this location you will need a car to go most places. The little grocery across the street was handy for any food items you might want . The wednesday market for fresh veggies was great. There is a good chinese place to the left that serves substantial portions for those hungry teenagers. The pizza at the property is very good. Good snorkeling at Black Rock and mile marker 14. We were there from 12/19 to12/29 and the weather was bad , windy and rainy. mahalo bill

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wnday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
There are newer reviews for Ka'anapali Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just got back from our New Year's trip to Maui. We are Diamond members so expect a certain level of comfort in condo living. Ka'anapali Beach Club was all that and more! The room itself was roomy and comfortable. The only downside was their was no stove/oven. However, you are able to request a rice steamer and/or slow cooker from housekeeping. There was an electric frying pan in the unit and barbeques down by the beach (which are a bit of a hassle if your room is on a higher floor or near the front of the building). The pool area is fantastic with lots of loungers, a children's pool with waterslide, waterfalls (good for an aquamassage after surfing!), hot tub, and direct beach access. The coral comes pretty close to shore so watershoes are a MUST. Snorkeling is excellent past where the surfers are (closer in is shallow, murky, and "dead" coral). The best surf lessons on Maui are right in front of the barbeques! There's a grocery store right across the street from the resort entrance (a block up the drive -- buy boogie boards there for $12 rather than renting them then just pass them onto another family when you leave) and a local bus stops right out the base of the drive that takes you either up to Napili or down to Whaler's Village. You can connect at Whaler's Village to go to Lahaina and the fare is cheap! However, if you want to see more of the island, tours can be booked through the concierge (which I highly recommend for the Hana Hwy drive as doing it yourself is exhausting) or you can rent a car. There's a fish market just up the road and a farmer's market right across from the Honokowai Beach Park which is a 10 minute walk. The farmer's market has awesome homemade guacamole and pineapple salsa. They also have a deli which serves all vegetarian food (the store itself is completely vegetarian so you need to go to the grocery store or fish market for meat/fish). The resort itself has a bar, pizza place, and restaurant for those who don't feel like cooking and want to spend lots of money on meals. To the left of the grocery store in a little strip mall is a fantastic restaurant for supper called Java Jazz. It has a great atmosphere and has live music (folk/jazz/blues) at 7pm every night. If you're travelling with kids, the resort has fantastic activities throughout the day to keep everyone busy -- sunset movies by the pool, bowling, Wii and Kinect, hula lessons, lei making, etc. Whether you choose to do a timeshare presentation or not is totally up to you. If you choose to, don't complain about it later (Hawai'i real estate is expensive). Either you're interested or you're not.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean view... still a great view. If you're "afraid" of heights, as...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank nevillcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

i decided to choose maii as our second honeymoon .we went to orlando florida in 2010 & went though this timeshare presentation with diamond resorts & declined the sales they offer & accepted to purchase the sampler package which i thought wow!!! second honeymoon.i went bought my airline tickets over 2000.00 & the package was almost 900.00 so on october 24 2011 we went to ka'napali beach club .the hotel is great,the rooms are really spacious & we had a refrigerator & microwave no stove though ,so we would buy ourgroceries & drinks at walmart or costco .you definetely need a car you are far from everything.there is a grocery store in front of the resort but its expensive .i thought the hotel was missing entertainement ,they had a drive in movie with a big screen & popcorn but i do that with the kids not alone with my husband!!!we took the road to hana which is super the view is to die for
there is a bridge with natural ponds do not miss this.its scary the drive but so worth it if you turn left on the resort & go straight for 20 mitutes you will get to this awsome beach almost no one there just beautiful.we had to assist through another sales pitch & explained to the sale person that our sales representation that we had in florida was not so great & they mentioned that it would not be like that in maui it sells by itself.after i refused the offer they were rude .but that did not take away my experience in maui because it is the most beautiful place to be .will go back but not to this hotel ps:no long chairs on beach just where grass is :(

Room Tip: ocean view looks awsome
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We are owners here so some people might think we're biased in our opinion of the property. I assure you we are not. The resort is located directly on the beach. If you compare that to the properties next door (i.e., The Westin, Honua Kai, Marriott, etc.) you'll realize the value you get in spending your vacation time here. Originally this property was owned by Embassy Suites. We bought into the property based on the quality and perks they offered. Some of those perks disappeared and the quality slipped when Sunterra took over. Now Diamond owns the resort and they have listened to some of the owner complaints and made appropriate changes. We'll keep hounding them for the rest! On the first morning of your visit you are invited to an "orientation" which allows you the opportunity to learn what excursions are available. Whether you book anything or not, you get a breakfast buffet voucher for attending. Definitely worth going to for that reason alone. A nice breakfast buffet with made-to-order omelets with a breathtaking view of the ocean, Lanai and Molokai. IF you elect to attend the timeshare presentation and you complete it, THEN you can choose to use the compensation for a discounted excursion, dinner, or shopping. We chose KBC's Feast by the Sea luau which then only cost $29 total. The food is good, the show is ok (it has slipped since last year). You can't beat the deal for that price though. A better luau is the Drums of the Pacific at the Hyatt. The Hyatt has been doing their luau much longer, they should be better. KBC needs to take in their show and take notes. We don't feel Diamond's presentation is high pressure. We've been to numerous other timeshare presentations, a couple of which were worse. They all take about the same amount of time to complete. We've never had a problem with any of the staff, they are always courteous and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and relaxing, ask for a scenic room facing the mountain. Pool-side rooms are nois...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SlotQueen655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

After attending the "short" presentation by Diamond Resorts International in Las Vegas, and it taking most of a day, we declined the sales pitch for the full product. We then were offered a "Sampler" that included sufficient "points" to book a week at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We paid $1400+ for this trip, not counting the additional $2200 for r/t tickets to Hawaii from Colorado Springs.

The salesman in Las Vegas gave me a login and password to the Diamond Resorts International website, and I thought I booked the vacation on that site. I got a confirmatory email stating that we had reserved an "Ocean view deluxe" suite, and were told it would be a completely furnished apartment in the resort.

Arriving after dark on December 3, we were greeted by friendly valets, who handled their job beautifully. We went to the desk to check in, and no record of our reservation was on file. Luckily I had the email confirmation code number, and it took nearly 2 hours for the manager to figure out that the website on which I booked was an "internal training site" not a real site, and the reservation was canceled after the exercise, despite sending me a confirmation number and email. informed me that "parking" would be $16 a day."

I told the manager that the least they could do would be "comp" the parking, which they did. Thank you.

They put us in a room, admirably, since we really had no booking. The next day was pretty much wasted while we waited around, and we did take a drive, awaiting the matter to be cleared up.

We got to stay in the same suite they put us into on the first nite. It was OK. Somewhat mildew odor typical of so many tropical places where they use carpets that get wet from people using the place, but not unbearable. The furniture was so-so in comfort. Good bed, two large flat screen TV's, however we had planned on using the "apartment" to prepare meals to save costs on our vacation. There was no stove, or oven. There was a microwave and an electric frying pan, but that was it for cooking options.

The appointments were nice. Housekeeping was included once in the week, and the woman did a good job. The restaurant was OK, but the Luau was overpriced, the entertainment was good, but the food was nothing to write home about.

By looking on "http://www.hotels.com" for a comparable week in 2012 pricing, the Royal Lahaina Resort has rooms for $159 a night, The Maui Coast Hotel for $165/night. The Mana Kai Maui for $122/night, the Castle Kamaole Sands, a Condominium Resort for $124 a night. So our "Sampler" at $200 a night plus parking was no bargain.

We were apparently spared the repeat timeshare presentation others on this site have experienced. I was not going to attend it regardless, having killed way too much time in Las Vegas on this in the first place.

We did enjoy our first trip to Hawaii, the weather was great, snorkeling with Blue Water Rafting (separately reviewed with pix) was fun.

I would book via hotel.com if we chose to return to Maui and save money.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MedicinemanPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I found the room accomodations to be adequate and comfy but the staff and processes of staying there are inconvenient and annoying. We came across road blocks around every corner with this company! When we asked for butter pats for our meal, they charged us an extra 25 cents per pat of butter! This seems ludicrous to me! They did not replace and provide more coffee filters in our room, we had to buy those too. The housekeeping staff kept walking in on us the last morning we were there prior to our check out time to see if we had left yet. The pool is very cold and the hot tub is extremely small and always seems to be packed so using it was very difficult. We had our wedding reception in the hotel's restaurant but experienced much difficulty there with accomodating the 17 people in our party, wanting to charge us rental fees to eat in their dining room, and the manager told us that though they would serve us there "you won't get the same amount of service because our waiters will be busy with other tables and can't focus only on you and your group." He was argumentative and rude, even telling us at one point that we could take our business elsewhere and "that was fine" by him. The halls are grouted tile so you wake up very early (5:00am) to the sound of carts being wheeled down the halls, clanging and banging. Our "ocean view room" was partially right....it looked directly onto the backside of it's neighboring property and if you looked to the left, you could see some ocean. The worst part is the sales pitch from the timeshare staff. Brutal. So glad we got out after an hour and a half!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Club. Large suite with nice master bedroom and a bath which was almost as large. Double balcony and nice kitchenette. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. No high pressure sales pitch to learn about vacation ownership. Very nicely decorated and right on the beach. Nice pool and restaurant and options for water sports. Located in the heart of resort area, with access to grocery, shopping, etc. Not too far from Whaler's Village and Lahaina shopping areas. Always be aware of a parking fee, which is normal for this type of resort. I agree with others about the sales pitch. Avoid it if you are not interested even for the opportunity for discounted activity tickets.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maui hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#19 Spa Hotel in Maui
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range: $240 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing