We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you visit Maui”

Hana Highway - Road to Hana
Book In Advance
More Info
$651.82*
and up
Road to Hana: Luxury First Class Private Tour
Ranked #15 of 364 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic and often dangerous road popular with the more adventurous visitor.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must if you visit Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Put this on your list if you visit Maui. It's an all day trip, so start out before 8:30 in the morning. A winding road around the north coast. Many opportunities to pull over for photo opts, or go for a short hike to see waterfalls, or have lunch. Totally recommend at the end going on the Pipiwai Trail that leads to a gorgeous waterfall. I also recommend downloading the app that narrates as you travel the road both ways, A MUST!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grdn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,882
    1,629
    673
    274
    141
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Long twisting road with nothing at the end”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After all the hype, we decided to take the trip to Hana. We expected the winding road, and left at 3:00pm to go to Hana. Not too many cars, and nice and sunny. Stopped for a couple of pics and got to Hana at about 4:15. For what?! There is a few shops with crap in them and employees who could care less you are there. We went down to the Hana Bay stop, and used the restrooms, which were dirty. We made the trip back to Paia and arrived about 6:15.

If you want to use your time on Maui, don't do this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
1 review
“Review of guided Hana tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked our trip through Boss Frog's in Kihei. It was a thoroughly enjoyable trip lasting most of the day. Our driver, Bjorne was just great. Knowledgeable, humorous, great driver and tour guide. One suggestion is book those with airline reservations together so that the trip doesn't have to be rushed in order to make a flight at the airport. We would have liked to spend a little more time at the waterfalls and other scenic attractions. Overall I would strongly recommend this trip to get to know the many sides of this wonderful island.

Jim and Margie Semmes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The long and winding road.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Road To Hana: If you are staying in West Maui, don't be fooled this trip will take an entire day. We left Lahaina at 6:00am and didn't get back until after 5:00pm and only about 4 hours of that time was spent at various locations throughout the trip. Also, if anyone in you group sufferers from motion sickness - Stay Home.

All warnings aside, it is a beautiful drive along the coast and coming from the Midwest, there are not a lot of opportunities to see such beautiful landscape. I highly recommend downloading the app available from Gypsy Guides for the drive. It give information and directions based on your GPS location. It was very helpful and we would have missed some of the turn offs with out it. Also, if you are going to drive all the way to Hana, go the extra distance to see Ohe'o Gulch (Seven Sacred Pools) at the national park, about 45 minutes farther down the road.

All in all I'm glad we made the trip but once is defiantly enough. The drive is just not worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Long road to nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Being from Colorado where the roads that go up in altitude often lead to a destination with beautiful views and something to eat at the very least, this road was twisted and narrow and the destination took too long to get there. I would highly recommend that if you are wanting to get to the destination and back, go by helicopter. We drove in an SUV and half our passengers began to get car sick and we didn't even make it all the way there. The views are okay...the first hike to the Twin Falls was 1 mile out and 1 mile back (at the very least) and required some climbing and treading in water. Our family was okay with it but older or heavier people would struggle. Be fore warned that this is great for healthy, young individuals or couples but be prepared with snacks, bottles of water, and a long windy drive one way to the top.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Highway - Road to Hana also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hana Highway - Road to Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing