We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must do”

Hana Highway - Road to Hana
Book In Advance
More Info
$435.00*
and up
ONE DAY TOUR: Heavenly Hana Tour Maui - Island Hopping Oahu to Maui
More Info
$129.16*
and up
East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike
More Info
$245.33*
and up
Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour
Ranked #15 of 371 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic and often dangerous road popular with the more adventurous visitor.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a must do”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We did this drive one Saturday. We planned on taking all day and we did. So many places to hike and so many things to see. We will be doing this another weekend. To much to do in one day.
GREAT!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank aaronmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

6,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,119
    1,715
    703
    288
    155
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth doing once, but make sure you have lots of time”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of the prettier drives around, but the road is narrow, with many narrow bridges and very few places to stop without blocking traffic(although many people do anyway to take pictures). The drive takes 3 hours each way, so allow lots of time and don't be in a hurry. You will average about 15 miles an hour. There are plenty of YIELD signs for one-lane bridges, which most people obey, but you have to be very careful for those who don't.
Plenty of scenic views and waterfalls along the way. Expect rain - this is the wet part of the island.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1goofybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of Maui on this road!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We read the Maui Revealed book and followed their recommendations...and it was perfect. All the spots mentioned along the way to Hana were wonderful. Don't stop at O'heo Gulch and turn around to go back ....make sure you keep on going! We did all the great stops along the way and arrived at the gulch quite late in the day to find the access to the pools to be closed. So, we carried on the single lane road around the south end of the island and found the dirt road and ruts and holes -- it was a rental car. And we drove into the setting sun...quite nerve wracking but you are at least on the inside edge and you don't typically meet too many cars coming your way. There's usually a place to pull over to squeeze two cars by. (It was less tense than going around the top of West Maui in the westerly direction from Kahului.)

The most amazing part was beyond Kaupo where the landscape opened up to great fields and the rugged mountain. We had the setting sun over the water and pulled over beyond Kaupo at a place the book recommended as a great viewpoint. The setting sun created great colour and shadows on the mountains and the grass was reasonably green....we felt like the hills were alive!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janeontheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Finally made the trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After coming to Maui for many, many years we decided to to the drive to Hana. We chose to spend the night when we arrived and I am glad we did. We were able to make many stops along the way and not have to worry about driving back later.
We got the best banana bread at Aunty Sandy's at Keanae Landing Fruit Stand. It is a small turnoff into the little town of Keanae. The views from down there are beautiful too.
It was raining like crazy which made for some beautiful waterfalls, but we were unable to swim in the pools. We plan on going back in the summer to swim in the pools and do some hiking. It was just too dangerous this trip.
The road is in good condition and as long as you take it slow and pull over for locals you will have a pleasant trip. If you get car sick, this is not the road for you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hana4Less is the way to go...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just recently visited Hawaii for the first time in December and I did a lot of research on all the activities we did since we were a party of 6 with 4 kids (ages 8-10). I decided to go with John and Hana4Less because I figured it would be the best option for the kids (and was less expensive). Well it was a great decision regardless if we had kids or not. It was so much better to have our own private tour guide then be stuck on a big bus on a tight time schedule. We stayed at the stops however long or short we wanted to. We really enjoyed John's expertise and knowledge of the island and loved his little extra stops that the big buses don't go to (like the really neat red sand beach, the rainbow trees and the truly best banana bread ever!) We did the reverse tour which was really great because we avoided all the bus crowds at all the stops. I would say that the first part is very bumpy and curvy so if you get motion sickness at all be sure to take a dramimine beforehand (or John has ginger you can suck on to cure it as well - gross but effective.) It is a very long day so be prepared for 8-10 hours and a very early start. I would book this early in your stay so the early morning start isn't so painful if you are still on "mainland time". John will drive your rental car or provide a car to take you in for an additional fee. We loved this tour and it is some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen! The waterfalls were roaring after a rainstorm the night before and we got to see a ton of overflow waterfalls as well. And the black sand beach is beautiful. Make sure to pack water and snacks as there aren't many places to stop. There are several places to stop for bathroom breaks but make sure to take advantage because some are spread out. Also bring a light jacket as you are going through a rainforest and changing elevations dramatically during the ride. Overall I can't imagine a better way to experience the Road to Hana and I would highly recommend John and Hana4 Less!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Highway - Road to Hana also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hana Highway - Road to Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing