We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hulopoe beach or trilogy company beach?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hulopoe Beach

Hulopoe Beach
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Lanai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most popular for swimming and picnicking beach on Lanai also has safe tidal pool area for small children.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hulopoe beach or trilogy company beach?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

nice beach, fun swimming with spinner dolphins,but a company called trilogy,named by one of their beach workers had taken over half of the beach with volley ball nets, trailers,surf boards and a large group of people they boated over from Maui.Not the way the beach is described by 4 seasons brochures

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great beach experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived to see at least 20 dolphins swimming right in front of us. Then when we got in to swim we enjoyed the waves and clear water. The beach was long and filled with beautiful soft white sand. We also enjoyed a walk to sweetheart rock.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“EXOTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

An isolated beach in Hawaiian tourist terms that provided locals surfing the left side of the beach while we snorkelled in the expanse of the rest of the beautiful setting. The ferry was also a treat with whales and spinner dolphins behind and beside at various times.
Our only mistake was not to include a 10 mile trip to Lanai City on our agenda and to spend a full day on this quiet and exotic island. Maybe next time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ManitobaGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Soft sand, gentle waves - must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I've been to a lot of beaches around the Hawaiian islands and the Caribbean...The Hulopo'e Beach Park on Lana'i is one of the nices beaches I've been to! The sand is soft and cream colored. The ocean waves are gentle enough to swim in. Snorkelers could be seen all day long on the sides of the bay be the cliffs. There is a rocky area with abundent tide pools - walk around them and it will be like looking into a pricey aquarium! We were there for 2 days, and even stayed in the camping area just steps away from the beach! The beach was never overly crowded - even in Hawaii's high season. The beach park is about 1/4 mile from the ferry harbor that comes over from Maui. An easy walk to the beach from there. The beach has nice bathrooms that are cleaned every morning at 6:30am. There are outdoor cold water showers to spray off and picnic tables on the beach in areas. The beach is wide and long, with trees in the back portion of the beach to offer shade. Take your time and relax on this beach! Did I mention that you can walk up the cliff to get a fantastic view of Sweetheart Rock. This is a phenomanal place to watch the sunrise!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good reason it is Top Rated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Hulopoe Beach has it all. It is located in a cove with black lava on the two ends and an excellent expanse of sand in between. Hotel beach (Four Seasons) with all the amenities on the right and public beach on the left, and they work together very well. Excellent snorkeling, tide pools on the left side of the cove, and hikes around the point on the left to Sweetheart Rock. Wave action is moderate - enough for short boogie boarding runs but not full surfing. A good paddle board location.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hankwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hulopoe Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hulopoe Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing