We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and perfect”
Review of Polihua Beach

Polihua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.95*
and up
Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui
More Info
$73.50*
and up
Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail
More Info
$105.19*
and up
Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch
Ranked #7 of 48 things to do in Lanai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An isolated white sand beach.
New Haven, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secluded and perfect”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Like the other reviews say, it really is a secluded and perfect beach. I recommend bringing some supplies to really enjoy yourself (towel, food etc.) We went there while exploring the island with the rented Jeep and wished we had more time to enjoy the solitude. At one point we were truly the only people there. Amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank proche18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet beach”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Crazy bumpy ride but worth it if you enjoy walking on beaches and solitude. We spent an hour just walking and playing in the sand and water, like kids!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Pecan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Secluded White Sand Beach Worth the Ride!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A can't miss stop when visiting Lanai. From Lanai City it takes about an hour to get to by 4X4 down a rough off road trail, but it is well worth the drive. You even get to pass through the Garden of Gods along the way. On the day we were there we were the only ones on the 2 mile stretch of white sand beach for most of the time. We were even lucky enough to be there on a day when the current wasn't too bad, so we were able to swim. Definitely schedule some beach time at Polihua on your next trip to Lanai.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderluster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“just about empty”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

senic beach and great sand. It was fun to walk on although a little windy.

Great views.

Like it better than Shipwreck beach

Much cleaner

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank parcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Isolated and spectacular”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

You need to rent a Jeep to get out here, but it's well worth it. We drove about an hour on a bumpy off-road surface, which was fun in and of itself -- but the beach was the best part. There are beautiful views of Molokai and Maui, miles of sand and sea... and you have it all to yourself. While we were there, we only saw one other group of people from afar. It really felt like the entire beach was yours.

It is quite windy there, so the sand does whip around a bit, but we found a set of rocks that shielded us and provided us with a great vantage point for incredible photos. We stayed for at least 90 minutes before we headed back. Don't miss this beach!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polihua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Polihua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing