We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long stretch of beach - and you may be alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Polihua Beach

Polihua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.95*
and up
Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui
Ranked #7 of 48 things to do in Lanai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An isolated white sand beach.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Long stretch of beach - and you may be alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

This beach is only accessible by 4WD. The sand is made of crushed shells, and is not soft but the beach is huge. Worth going to lay in the sun and watch the waves crash onto the shore. Looked a little rough to swim, but excellent views of the island of Molokai.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most amazing secluded beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I with another couple traveled to Lanai for a day trip renting a jeep to travel the island. This was an amazing beach and our crew was the only ones there for the two to three hours we were on the beach. The drive there was beautiful to get there as well. This is a must see!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Firemedic245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only ones there for 4 hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Where else can you go and have an entire beach to yourself for half the day?

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hill2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful isolated beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

It's amazing that a beach this big and beautiful doesnt have anyone on it. I've been to Polihua a few times over the years and it never has anyone on it. For one thing it's remote the other is that the water is very dangerous. It gets deep fast and it will suck you out to sea quick if you go out too far. They don't call it the Tahiti Express for nothing. It's also not a beach to lay out on when it's windy. You will get sandblasted.
Wonderful drive thru Garden of the Gods. It is well worth it.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank daveak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Over one mile of deserted beach on Lanai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

You get to this beach by jeep, driving down the road past Garden of the Gods. The guides say this is a 2 mile long beach, but we walked the entire beach and it is more than one mile and less than 2 miles. At the far right end (as you look toward the ocean) you will see a shipwreck similar to Shipwreck Beach. The entire beach is perfect sand and there was only one other vehicle when we were there. At certain times, there are monk seals and turtles on this beach. We went there in Feb. and only saw whales. We were warned not to swim in the water because of the strong currents. However, it is a great spot for a picnic and watching for whales.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polihua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Polihua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing