We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to prep snorkling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lydgate Beach Park

Lydgate Beach Park
Ranked #56 of 279 things to do in Kauai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great place to prep snorkling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lydgate is a county park that has two completely rocked-in areas that break the surf. It's a place where kids (and adults) can get comfortable with their snorkel gear and then try some of the more adventurous beaches.

Are there lots of amenities? There's enough. Clean bathrooms and showers, but no food or drink so pack your own. The lifeguards are right there and keep an eye on the swimmers. Bring your own snorkel gear, chairs, blankets, umbrellas because there's no place to rent them at the beach. (But there are several places OFF the beach, like Boss Frog's http://bit.ly/14Sxt2X to rent gear)

We went mid week, but it reportedly gets busy on the weekends. There was sufficient free parking, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaVacataionAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    60
    21
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Safe and protected swimming for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stopped here on a cloudy and rough surf day on our way to Waimea Canyon. The kids could play and swim in the two protected pools. Great time and beautiful park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryL0u12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spend a night at the Lydgate Beach Park campsite and liked our stay. The location is very nice..just behind the beach. The tent spots are marked and prepared very nicely. Each spot has a table and bench and there are hooks to attach the tent ropes.
The restrooms and showers are ok.
To the beach with lifeguard it`s about 5 minutes walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbaether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Tide Pools”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent place to take family to swim and snorkle without getting wiped out by the waves (if you want that, it's there too), and the Lifeguard station is right there. Good bathrooms and showers as well, shaded in areas as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lydgate is a fine first beach before you head elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We generally visit Lydgate on the first day or two of our stays in Kauai - it's a protected beach created in the 1960's ago by a mom who supposedly regularly took her children to Lydgate park and wanted a protected beach for her children. There are two areas - a really rough natural beach and a area protected by a ring of boulders. It seems like the protected area is smaller than it used to be (the beach was refurbished a year or two ago). Its very calm shallow waters are perfect for young children or new snorkelers wanting to try their gear before heading to another beach. There's a large grassy field perfect for kite flying and a large play structure for children. There's a covered pavillion, bathrooms, outdoor showers for rinsing off and picnic tables. The beach faces east so it can be very hot and sunny in the morning.

Now that our daughter is a little older - we prefer Tunnels or Ke'e for protected swimming to Lydgate but when she was very young it was perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lydgate Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Lydgate Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing