We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a Stroll on the Beach and a Picnic Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lydgate Beach Park

Lydgate Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$655.20*
and up
Kauai Small-Group Helicopter and Land Combo Tour
Ranked #55 of 279 things to do in Kauai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 825 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a Stroll on the Beach and a Picnic Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just south of the town of Wailua, Lydgate Beach Park is a nice little park. We stopped on a beautiful, blue sky day in May and enjoyed a picnic lunch at one of the many tables. Afterward, we enjoyed walking the beach which was littered by driftwood -- it reminded us of Driftwood Beach on the north shore of Jekyll Island, GA -- don't know if it always has the driftwood, but the driftwood certainly made it unique compared to the other beaches on Kauai. Further up the beach, we found beachside pools created by semi-circles of stacked black rocks -- very picturesque. We found other beaches on Kauai that we liked better, but this was a good stop for our day on the east coast of the island.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    22
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison,AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for kids age 3-10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice place to spend a half day(2-4 hours) to play on the kalamale playground across the street on the north end of lydgate park!
The playground keeps the kids busy for a long time, and then they can play and swim in the protected beach with lifeguard tower.

Helpful?
1 Thank inthesun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“June update”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited Lydgate so our daughter could learn to snorkel in a safe, calm place, and for that it was perfect. Recent Spring rains have made the cove murky, however, with lots of debris from the trees that sometimes felt like swimming through wood chips. By going all the way out to the rock wall we gained clearer water and saw enough fish to convince a young swimmer that this really is a fun way to spend a day. With the "schooling" behind us, we won't revisit this area but are ready for bigger ponds with the small fry.

Helpful?
Thank LoladeTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, NJ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Playground & Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The playground is huge! Kids had lots of fun. Unfortunately we did not call ahead and the main beach was closed due to current conditions. The baby beach part was open and again the kids had lots of fun. About 20 minutes from Poipu and even less from Lihu'e. There are bathroom facilities and lifeguards on duty.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dblivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Closed for Swimming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When we visited on Apr. 12, 2012, the swimming area was roped off and no swimming allowed. The entire Lydgate Beach area was littered with debris from the flooding in March 2012. The pathway area and Children's Park were open for business and were a great way to spend a couple hours.

There were maybe 1 or 2 people on the beach lying amongst all the dead trees and driftwood that was washed up during the flooding. It is a beautiful park and beach as long as your main goal is not swimming!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kauaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lydgate Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Lydgate Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing