We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Ha'ena State Park

Ha'ena State Park
Ranked #113 of 282 things to do in Kauai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Ha'ena beach is my favorite on the entire island of Kauai. It has mountains, sand, palm trees, and lifeguards. Snorkeling is Ok but not great. limited parking generally means it isnt too crowded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“pretty to look at but rough swim”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

it is a pretty beach, but sand slopes down and it's rough walking. The water is also pretty rough, strong waves and some rocks in the water. the sand is pretty soft, but gets hot. Since I don't swim, hard for me to go in the water. there is picnic areas, bathrooms and showers and food trucks in the parking lot so convenient for families. This beach was so picturesque we saw a family with a professional photographer taking photos of them on this beach. However, for myself, I'd much rather head to Hanalei. Just personal opinion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best beach so far!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We love this beach! Love the mountain view...love the beach!! Much cleaner than some of the other beaches here. Restrooms and showers are available and there is a lifeguard stand. Snorkeling is done down the beach at Tunnels Beach. Parking is limited but we have always been lucky and found a spot! There is also a food truck selling munches and a person selling fresh coconuts. Great atmosphere....great beach!! We spend the entire day here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XsuzqX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful turquoise waters! Sand like silk! This is what you think of when you imagine Kauai beaches. Forget Ke'e & Tunnel beaches, which are strongly overrated. Just watch the waves...pretty strong here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandrakintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach if you can find parking”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ha’ena is fabulous beach park. We had been here several years ago, but didn’t get to hike the Kalalau trail so we could get a view of the Na Pali Coast. This time we got there early to hike, at least we thought we did, but all the parking areas and even the road were packed with cars. We tried one lot in hopes of finding one, but it of course it was full, and not just full of cars, but so full of large rocks we thought we had damaged the underside of our rental trying to get out. We gave up on parking and went to Tunnels Beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha'ena State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ha'ena State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing