We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalalau Trail

Kalalau Trail
Ranked #3 of 279 things to do in Kauai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kauai's hiking trail along the Na Pali coast.
atlanta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had seen the Napali coast from a helicopter in years past, but had no idea you could actually hike it. We were lucky to have very dry conditions and there were parts where the drop off made me a little skittish, but the scenery and experience were almost a religious experience for me. I did take a fall near the end on some loose gravel and had to hobble my way back, but absolutely no regrets. Would not want to do it wet myself and would not recommend for smaller children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank skhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    188
    28
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was number one on my list for Kauai and it did not disappoint. My wife and two teenage boys hiked to the falls in December of 2013. It had rained a few days before, so most of the trail into the falls was muddy, but nothing to be overly concerned about for the average person. This was our sons' favorite part of our trip. More than the zodiac out to the Na Pali Coast, the helicopter ride or the kayak trip! If you go to the falls, swim into and behind the falls if you can. Very cold but very cool! Wear appropriate footwear. Something with good traction and you don't mind getting completely muddy. Boots or strong, high quality water sandals work well. If at all possible, put this one your list and take your camera.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best. trip. ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent three nights at Kalalau beach. If you're an experienced & fit hiker, without a fear of heights, this is probably one of the best hikes on the planet.
I would not recommend doing the hike in wet weather due to very narrow treacherous sections, and because of the possibility of flash floods & trapping you on one side of the river.
The campers at the beach were laid back & fun. The beach itself is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen, especially because there are so few people on it & there's no development. The campsites were clean & you can't beat the views.
Prepare for wet weather: a tarp and tent with a good fly. Rain jacket.
Trekking poles really helped as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
355 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Go as far as you like and can do. Great views in less than a mile. You will be rewarded with the beauty if the lush vegetation and spectacular vistas of the Na Pali Coastline. The earlier in the day, the better for parking and crowds. This will make a lifelong memory.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not recommended for the eld, or out of shape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I've hiked many places in my life (west coast United States, Canada, Scotland, Ireland ect) and this has to be one of the most beautiul locations I've been to. The views, the temprature changes, the hot arid side of the mountain, to the tropical rainforest side of the mountain, makes you feel like you're walking in multiple locations at once. It really is amazingly enjoyable.
With that being said, I wouldn't recommend this hike if it's been raining badly (rocks and tree roots are VERY slippery) and I wouldn't recommend it if you're an older person, or out of shape.
The entire length of the trail is 11 miles to the beach and I would recommend staying the night there, as it would be a task to about face and walk back the same day. If you choose to stay the night on the beach, you MUST get a camping permit, as park rangers come every night and can fine you.
Now you don't have to do the entire leg of the journey. If you wish, you can walk to the Hanakapai'ai Falls, which is only 4 miles in. The pictures of the falls are amazing anytime of the year. From the falls though, that's where they ask that you at least have a camping permit with you.
Lots of people that I talked to said that when they decided to take the hike, they were under prepared, because they didn't know what to expect.
I had an alice frame pack with a camel bladder, dried snacks (fruit, crackers and oreos), rain poncho, clean pair of socks, tent (with rain fly) and a sleeping bag. Bring a decent pair of deep soled hiking boots, have hiking polls if your balance is suspect and if you do have any kind of pack, be sure to put the heavy weight in the bottom, as it lowers your center of gravity. Also... BUG SPRAY! For the love of god, it seemed that I had to re-apply every hour on the hour, because they're hungry!
A camera doesn't hurt either, as the sights are something to behold. The waterfall is amazing looking and the beach is great to take pictures during the evening and the next morning. The people that you run into on the trail are pretty awesome too. I had the pleasure of helping a poor young lady in nothing more than a bikini and aqua socks for the majority of the journey, as she thought it would have been an easy enough hike. A big win win for me!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalalau Trail also viewed

 

Been to Kalalau Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing