We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Step”

Pololu Valley Lookout
Book In Advance
More Info
$265.63*
and up
Full Day Small Group Adventure-Kohala Zip and Dip Tour
More Info
$756.00*
and up
Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of many scenic valleys on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth Every Step”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location is definitely worth your time and energy to visit. The views from the top are wonderful but so much better down on the black sand beach. I must advise that it is definitely tricky getting down (took about 25-30 minutes) with the incline and rocks but the wife and I hiked straight up and out in 15 minutes. Take a few towels and your suit, take lots of pictures and make this a stop while on the big island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    169
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marvellous view from the top. Great hike down to the beach.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This lookout gives a spectacular view down to the beach and the surrounding ocean. But the hike down was really fun too. It had been raining, and admittedly the path, strewn with rocks and mud, was slippery. We had to go rather slowly because of the unsure footing. It took us 25 minutes to get down to the beach, and a mere 18 minutes to walk back up! And I am 68 and not in particularly great shape! I was proud! The beach is beautiful, although it started to rain while we were there, and so we quickly began the ascent back to our car. I'd say it's a don't miss, particularly if you can hike down.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noahsmomhwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not just for hikers”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

You find this gorgeous view lookout at the end of highway 270 on the north end of the island. I am sure that the hiker’s love the long walk down to the beach below but being physical challenged I am not able to do it. If you want to hike to the beach below make sure you have proper footwear and water. Read the warning signs about the trail down to the beach below. The view from up top is well worth the drive. We were staying in Kona so the drive itself to Pololu Lookout was filled with interesting sites, lava flows and quaint little towns. There is very little parking they really need to make more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangbonnieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best spot on the island...”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a must when you visit the Big Island. The hike down is definately easier than the hike back up, just take your time. The hike down is about 15-20 min..the hike up more like half an hour depending on your fitness level.
The view from the top of the hike while beautiful doesn't compare to getting to the bottom. The beautiful green valley and the fine black sand beach...and you can still see down the coast and all of the gorgeous cliffs.
bring a bathing suit if you want to cook off in the shallow waves, although I don't think you will actually take a swim, you can easily jump around in the waves without getting swept away.
Make sure to take water and snacks as there are absolutely no amenities..sunblock doesn't hurt either for your hike up and down the cliff. Oh, and if you are wondering what to wear for footgear... if you have great balance and strong ankles go ahead and wear flip flops, but if you need it wear a pair of sneakers or hikers especially if it had been raining.
All in all this was probably one of my most favorite places on the island....but of course you need to see it for yourself, online photos don't really do it justice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sawwwaaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not much to see”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

it's at the end of a road. Just a BIG rock with water and a palm tree. Got a GORGEOUS picture of the palm tree and the water that I'll use for the front cover of my Hawaii book.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArlaFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pololu Valley Lookout also viewed

Island of Hawaii, HI
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Pololu Valley Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing