We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Pololu Valley Lookout
Book In Advance
More Info
$265.63*
and up
Full Day Small Group Adventure-Kohala Zip and Dip Tour
More Info
$756.00*
and up
Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of many scenic valleys on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Balzac, AB
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The view of Pololu Valley is such a beautiful sight! It reminded me of looking out at the cliffs in England. We didn't do the hike but that would have been great - to go down to the black sand beach.
On your journey to this valley make a few stops in some of the quaint little towns along the way, namely Kapaau and Hawi. They have some lovely shops to explore, King Kamehameha 1 statue, and a few nice places to eat.
Make this a nice day trip from your stay in Kona - enjoying the vews of the ocean along the way, visiting the towns along the way before you reach the Pololu Valley - a trip well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    167
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great hike, black sand beach.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We originally thought we would just drive up and take in the view. However, at the last minute we decided to hike down to the beach. Basically, we did this hike in flip-flops with a 4-year-old wanting to be carried a lot. The black sand and rocky beach was worth the trouble.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SchroerMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hike, beautiful views!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a day! We left the Kona area, stopped at a couple beaches, then continued on around the coast towards Pololu Valley. The drive itself is incredible - take advantage of the scenic pullouts! We made it up the Kohala coast and could even see Haleakala on Maui in the clear weather!

We passed Hawi and after some winding roads we got to the valley. The hike down was steep but offered plenty of opportunities to stop for pictures along the way. We made it down in 15-20 minutes. (for reference, we're in good shape and run some hills and trails back home.) I don't recommend anything less than a solid pair of Tevas for this at the very least. I was glad to have my trail shoes on, especially on the way back up.

The valley floor is a mixture of a stone beach, some brackish pools and lots and lots of stunning views up to the top of the trails. Be careful not to stumble onto private property towards the back of the valley.

We made it back up in about 15 minutes too, but we took the opportunity for a real workout there and kept a fast pace. Walking it at normal pace would be 25 minutes or so maybe? The incline is considerable.

Even if you don't hike down, the scenic drive from Kona and view from the top is worth the trip, especially if you stop at some beaches and in Hawi along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeabassATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you drive north from Kona, you are driving through the lava fields on Rt. 19. You take a left on Rt. 250 and slowly the terrain starts to change and you transition into a more moderate climate until you reach Hawi and you begin to get into more of a rainforest. At the end of 250 you dead end into the Pololu Valley. What a glorious view. Cliffs plunging into the ocean with small tree covered islands off shore.

Nice drive and fantastic ending and it didn't cost you two bills like most of the other attractions. Be sure to stop at the Haukamu Macadamia Nut Factory in Kawaihae along the way. It is right after you turn left on 250.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The view from the top is amazing but the hike down to the black sand beach is tiring but worth it. Take drinking water and wear good walking shoes. The trail down is rough as you climb down the mountainside. The views along the way are wonderful, takes about 30 minutes down and then back up. The waves on the beach are huge, swimming not recommended here. But the views are worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karenjerry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pololu Valley Lookout also viewed

Island of Hawaii, HI
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Pololu Valley Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing