We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique!”

Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in an area with coconut trees and a black sand beach, this park is one of the best in Hawaii.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was my first time seeing black sand. I loved it. The beach is small, but very pretty. There are sea turtles everywhere. Some of them are enormous. A must see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariselnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    324
    82
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sea turtles everywhere”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The day we went it was dark and cloudy. that being said we still enjoyed this truly unique beach. there were tons of sea turtles either resting on the beach or coming in from the ocean. Some of them were huge and there shells just kind of blended into the dark sand. there was just and overall different feeling here. The dark sky and dark sand felt somewhat of a surreal experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Tripout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walk this beach and feel nature”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This beach and the green beach can't be missed on your around island tour.
We parked in the parking lot and immediately saw the black sand and some local turtles hanging out. OMG, the experience was memorable.
There are bathrooms in the area as well. If you want a beverage or snack there is a guy at the far side of the beach .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must see once!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This is something that I think everyone should see at least once in their lifetime. The sand is perfect and black and there is a host of turtles that call this home. Beautiful! If you leave the park and look straight ahead there is a beaten road that goes up a hill about 300ft. It leads to a very small church and a graveyard. This isn't the reason you should go though. There is an AMAZING view up there of some landscape and ocean. Definitely a stop worth making.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Worth the drive! The view was stunning, sand was unique, and we got to see 9 sea turtles!! You can't touch the turtles, there is a sign and 25 foot barrier; however it is still neat to be able to watch them sitting on the sand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punaluu Black Sand Beach also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punaluu Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing